I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-02-12 - 10:35 p.m.

An entry of no importance

My father had a very bad day today. My mother was going to take him to the doctor but he couldn't stand up without help so I had to take them. The doctor thinks my father might have an infection so he put him on an antibiotic. I don't know what my parents are going to do tomorrow. I'm teaching so I can't take him to dialysis.

Today is Aubrey's birthday; from now till my birthday we are the same age. That means I get to call him old till July. I called him tonight and we were able to talk for a bit. As usual I heard about his problems with his employees. When I talked to Carey I asked her what she guessed I talked about with him, she nailed it he first shot.

I talked to Bad Carey tonight too. Once again he proved that he is a SIFE. A SIFE is like a donut having a really bad day; it stands for State Insurance Fund Employee.

I was just reading Jaci's diary. She is doing her Academy Awards preparations. I used to do things like that. One year I kept track of every movie I saw including the credits and my rating for it. At Oscar-Time I gave out my own choices for the major awards. Now I hardly ever go to the movies. I've been to about 5 films this year. I really only remember three of them, Hedwig, Harry Potter, and Lord of the Rings. I love film, I said earlier this year I'd start going again; I need to follow through on that. Not having someone to go with shouldn't stop me. I also need to make a list of important films that Lisa needs to see. She asked me to do this years ago and I still haven't done it. I love doing things like that. I do have a list of films that I think never received the attention they deserve. I would love to make a book of them, a recommending viewing list for people not afraid to see movies off the beaten track.

I wrote an entry about the importance of listening not long ago. I was thinking about that again today. There are people who I know won't listen to me. They love to talk but don't show any interest in what I have to say. After a while I give up and stop talking. Why should I bother when they'll just interrupt and tell me something that they think is far more important than what I have to say. I don't care when this happens with acquaintances, friends hurt though.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-02-12
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!