I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 29, 2018 - 11:55 a.m.

Memories: Not that Horrid Song

I stayed home on Memorial Day; that was out of choice so it's fine. What's not fine is that I watched the Met's not just lose but blow another game for their best player this season, Jacob DeGrom. He leads the league in ERA and just about every advanced pitching stat but has only 4 wins. The Mets and Braves played a Day/Night doubleheader. The second game was delayed by rain for three hours and didn't start until around ten. The Mets were out of pitchers and let the bullpen pitch that game. That one, they won! They managed to score 8 runs. Distribute the runs across DeGrom's starts and he might be 8-0. I didn't watch that one.

I'm glad I didn't watch too much of the NBA West Final, I was rooting for Houston. Once Paul was hurt their chances evaporated. I love the Warriors too so I'm not crestfallen. I always root for LeBron and he will once again lead a depleted Cavs versus the West's superteam. LeBron will be the best player on the court but the next four are Warriors. On paper there is no contest; on paper Cleveland shouldn't be in the finals. I've never seen one player carry a team on his back as much as Mr. James.

I don't write about sports enough. It's part of who I am and who I am is the one and only topic of this blog. An even bigger part of who I am is telling stories, teaching, and correcting misconceptions, so it looks like I'm writing about other things.

I made a dinner I don't make often enough, Buffalo chicken wings. That's always great but the roasted potatoes came out extra good. I made them on the same sheet as the chicken, they were awash in chicken fat. Before I cook them, I coat them with seasoning, this time it was garlic salt, MSG, olive oil, and parmesan cheese. The cheese made a big difference. I always enjoy my cooking but sometimes more than others. This was one of the special days.

I want to see Avengers: Infinity War and understand everything. As of last week, I have seen all the previous MCU films, Black Panther was the last. Now I'm trying to fill in gaps in my memory; last night I watched Avengers. I thought I remembered how Phil Coulson died. On Agents of S.H.I.ELD. they bring up that he was stabbed in the heart by Loki's scepter. That happened but not how I remembered it. I had a clear image in my mind of Coulson standing by Stark Tower in the final battle, while the scepter came from above and went through his heart. Nothing like that happened. He died earlier in the film. It was a major plot point. My false memory was indistinguishable from my real memories like Bruce Banner saying, "The secret is that I'm always angry" as he turns into the Hulk. I'm always fascinated by the tricks our brains pull on us and I'm always surprised that many people don't accept that it happens to them. I'm always suspect of repressed memories as should everyone. We know we manufacture memories, both experientially and experimentally. It doesn't mean I always disbelieve repressed memories, it means that they need confirmation. They are unreliable.

That wasn't what I planned on writing, but it's wither my mind went. My backlog of diary ideas that I will probably never use keeps growing. I need a better way of keeping track of them, one that includes why I think it's a great thing to write about.

Now on to what really matters, breakfast. Yes, it's almost noon. Yes, I could yield to societal norms and call in brunch; I often do, but not today. Today I take a stand and call breakfast, breakfast. There's an omelet with my name on it waiting for me. I better not say that, it's taking a pro-life stance. It isn't an omelet at the moment of conception. It's not an omelet until it has reached the point of edibility.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 29, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!