I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 27, 2018 - 4:44 p.m.

The NFL and the First Amendment

I slept very late. That's why I'm writing so late. I considered not writing at all, but I didn't want to disappoint my Gentle Readers. Like Gandalf my breaking tryst needs an explanation.

I was up late last night. I earned a free movie ticket from Google for posts on Google Maps. I want to see Avengers: Infinity War. The problem is that I hadn't seen Thor Ragnarok or Black Panther. I watched Thor last week and last night I started watching Black Panther. I didn't finish it because halfway through LORi called. There aren't many people I'd welcome a call while watching Black Panther but LORi is one of them. We the proceeded to talk for two and a half hours. I hardly ever talk on the phone but when I do, I talk, especially when it's a person I don't get to see in person. We had our usual insane conversation that I won't share with you except that for now on I'm calling her Carla. It's her lesbian wife name. I'm her lesbian wife too. Just nod and smile; it's better for your sanity. One more thing, there might be a Budgiedome chocolate tasting. The question is, why we have never done that before? Thank Jake Jacobson.

I said on Facebook that I'd discuss the NFL National Anthem rule and as I said, I don't like to break tryst, so I will.

The NFL banning protests by players during the playing the National Anthem is not a violation of the First Amendment. The NFL is a private organization, not the government, and they can regulate what their employees say and do. Their goal is not political but preserving the value of their franchises. In April 2014 the NBA handed Clippers owner Donald Sterling a lifetime ban for racists remarks he said in private which were recorded and made public. He was forced by the league to sell the team.

In 1992 Marge Schott then owner of the Cincinnati Reds was reported by team Marketing Director, Cal Levy, calling outfielders Eric Davis and Dave Parker, "Million Dollar Niggers." He also said she had Nazi armbands in her home. She dug herself deeper into the hole by defending herself. She said that the armband was a gift and that at first Hitler was good for Germany, "He just went too far." She also said that she couldn't understand how "Jap" could be offensive. She was suspended twice for these incidents and was then pressured to sell the team.

Were these violations of free speech? Was this because of racism? No, it's because owners and leagues hate controversy. Michael Jordan took the same approach when he explained his lack of political activism by saying "Republicans buy sneakers too." This is one reason I take LeBron of Jordan. He's not afraid to take a stand.

I don't think that is the right attitude but it's a common one that many, perhaps most people hold. The NFL is being craven, not political.

In the mean time those attacking the players as un-American and unpatriotic are the ones being un-American and unpatriotic. They are going out of their way to take offense. They must be shutting their ears to think of it as an attack on the country or even the flag. The players aren't giving the flag the finger. They aren't mooning the flag. They are kneeling, an action suggested by a veteran to Colin Kaepernick, as a respectful way to protest the killing of blacks by the police and racism in America. Racism is behind the objections of many of those protesting the protest. For others it's insensitivity to the plight of blacks and over-devotion to symbols, not people. This was a strategy of those whipping up anger at the players. "They are disrespecting the flag! We are just patriots, not bigots."

There is one aspect where the First Amendment comes into play, the words of President Trump. The Federal Government has a great deal of power over the NFL in terms of anti-trust and tax law. The government potentially has power over all of us in terms of its legal and regulatory powers. We have traditionally been protected from that by traditions of non-partisan use of those powers. Trump has shown by his words and actions that he does not hold himself bound by those traditions. He says he has the right to wield those powers vindictively against his personal enemies. The NFL has to pay attention to more than the mass of its fans, but the whims of the president. Do not bother to defend President Trump on this. He is using his powers against those investigating him. That is the ultimate taboo and he feels no compunctions about it. He's attacked the press. He's attacking Amazon to get at Bezos who also owns The Washington Post whose investigate his administration have been a thorn in his side. This is the most disturbing part of the whole controversy and is receiving very little attention.

Now I have to run. I'm not sure I'll even be able to post this till I get back.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





test - June 03, 2018
Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 27, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!