I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 26, 2018 - 11:39 a.m.

On The Road Again

It's time to stop avoiding the subject. Jane and Bernie are moving to Portland, Oregon. I am not moving to Portland, Oregon so now I need a place to stay. My therapist is worried and she's always an optimist. I'm writing about it now as I have a temporary solution. A friend of Jane, a folk music person is going away for the summer and needs a cat and apartment sitter. That will be me. It's a gorgeous pre-war apartment near the Grand Concourse. I'll be as close to the D train as I was from the subway when I lived in Briarwood. It will cut a half an hour off my travel time to most places. I'll be there till the third week in August; wither then I cannot say. How hard is this for me? My heart is pounding just writing this. As usual I appear fine.

Yesterday I went to meet the woman. I need to assign the woman I'm cat sitting for a name. I hereby dub her Queen Beruthiel. There is one reference to her in The Lord of the Rings. "He's as sure to find his way home as the cats of Queen Berúthiel." I will eschew the accent mark for the most part. There's a voice in my brain shouting, "You can't do that! It's part of her name!" The part of my brain that doesn't want to write out the html entity ever time is winning.

I went to Beruthiel's house yesterday to meet her. It is never easy to travel East-West, especially at rush hour, which is when I went. Jane was kind enough to drive me. I didn't time it, but I think it took close to an hour. Beruthiel is one of my people. Her very large apartment has two pianos, a piano-keyboard, and many guitars. She's not a musician but like me a music lover, except that she can play. She's been to Falcon Ridge, at the first two sites. She has a huge vinyl collection. There's a Mr. Spock magnet on her refrigerator. There's a privacy screen with the Tenniel illustration of the Cheshire Cat on it. I will feel at home.

I came home on public transit. I think that was faster. Than the drive. It was certainly easier, even though it took a subway and two buses. I will be able to walk to the New York Botanical Garden and on a nice day Fordham. Getting to therapy will be easier. The WFUV might need to dread me stopping by.

I have no plans for Memorial Day Weekend. I could go to Orchard Beach, but I don't want to go when it's crowded. If it cools off a bit exploring Pelham Bay park before I leave here might be a good idea. If anybody wants to get together, that would be a better idea.

Today's edition of Wise Madness is short but made up for it with big news. I'm going to leave it at that.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





test - June 03, 2018
Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 26, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!