I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 23, 2007 - 11:25 a.m.

Fish or Cut Bait?

I think you better keep your expectations for this entry low. I woke up this morning and my first reaction was, "oh no I overslept; I want to get to Leah's before one. I put on the computer just to check the weather in Atlantic City. When I did I saw that it said it was in the sixties that confused me since it was supposed to warm up a bit by Friday. That is when it hit me that today was Thursday, not Friday. I'm not visiting Leah today. So I don't even know what day of the week it is.

I can't decide how to organize this entry, pictures from FRFF first or whining philosophical discussion first. Pictures are easier so I'll start there.

I may have actually posted some of these before but it won't hurt to show them again. These are the photos that I took that weren't of people performing. This is what the festival looks like when you aren't looking at the stage.


This is up in a tree by the main stage so everybody sees it every night. It was there last year too.


Moonrise over Falcon Ridge


The audience from the right in front of the main stage

You see all kinds of strange people walking around the festival.


Just because I take surreptitious pictures of her eating doesn't mean that I'm stalking Laurie


The area near the workshop stage


The Budgiegarage?


The The Budgiedome schedule


John Platt, Richard Shindell, and Lucy Kaplansky in the WFUV booth

A month later and I'm finally finished with my Falcon Ridge photos. Here is the table of contents for the album.

Now for something completely different. This is one of those things that I had meant to write about ages ago an never got around to.

We all have what I call "fish or cut bait" decisions when it comes to some friendships. There are some people that you have to make all the effort to keep the friendship active; you have to instigate all the communication. I am right aren't I? This does happen to everyone not just me? Now sometimes the other person doesn't even respond to your efforts and that's when you have to make the decision. How many times will you be rebuffed making plans with somebody before you just give up? It of course depends on the person involved. Some people I know are just busy and we have a history of things working out so I will make a harder effort. Others I'll give up on earlier. I always find it interesting to hear other people's reactions when I mention something like that. Some people say, "just give up and let it go." Others say, "Just keep trying, the person is your friend." Of course to me that begs the question. Is the person really my friend is what I worry about.

Complicating the situation for me is something I've written about before, emotional inertia. If I give up on the friendship I'll stop worrying about it. If I see the person I'll start caring about them again and have to go through this all again next time. The process of my stopping caring is slow enough; I try to avoid doing things that will prolong it.

I'd like to hear other people's thoughts about this. How do you handle it?

I've written myself into a corner and can't find a way of continuing. Wait, I just did, that worked!

Another random thought having nothing to do with anything I wrote about so far. I'm really happy that more people are reading my diary again. It shouldn't matter to me but it does. I was down to 400 readers in March. Now I'm back over 600 a month. It is good to know that I'm not talking to a brick wall.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 23, 2007
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!