I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 20, 2007 - 11:14 a.m.

Songs written just for me

The engineers found some problems with the house. The first was some cement decay where a horizontal steel support beam enters the foundation. The other was termites. Charis says that termites won't be that expensive to take care of. An extra vertical steel support to shore up the horizontal one can be installed rather than fix the foundation. It isn't clear if we'll do that or just negotiate the price and let the buyer handle it.

Yesterday I went to the Roots of American Music Festival at Lincoln Center Outdoors. The scheduled lineup was:

1 PM � Harvest Wind Tarheels
2 PM - Chuck Brodsky
3 PM � The Quebe Sisters
4 PM � Diana Jones
4 PM � Garnet Rogers

I got there a little before noon so I'd get a good seat. I brought the Sunday Times with me so I didn't worry about passing the time. When I got there the place was empty. I couldn't figure out why. There were some people lounging around the shade. They told me that the show wasn't going to start till 2 PM. They didn't give me an explanation. The website said nothing about it.

Later someone put up a sign saying that Harvest Wind was in a car accident a week ago. So they had a week to change their website and just didn't bother to do so. They was actually enough time to book a replacement act. I bet I could have found somebody. I've replaced people a The Budgiedome with a lot less notice.

I didn't spend as much time reading the paper as I planned. I ended up making some phone calls and receiving some. I then started running into people I knew, WFUV volunteers for the most part. Lets see how many I can remember. Sylvia, she sat with me, Louis, Arthur and Sue, another Sue, and Hara. As I often do I also ran into Richard and Viki from Acoustic Live. In other words I spent a lot of time schmoozing. I'm proud of myself for remembering so many names. I think I'm getting better at that.

I also made some new friends. Before anyone I knew showed up I met Michael. I think he started talking to me because I was wearing the new WFUV t-shirt, the one nobody has yet. We had a lot in common and talked about music, sports, and the Long Island Railroad. Later in the afternoon when I went over to talk to Chuck Brodsky Bill struck up a conversation with me instigated by my WFUV t-shirt. He is on the board of directors of WDIY � Lehigh Valley Community Public Radio. I have actually listened to the station. We had a great conversation about radio, Godfrey Daniels, and music.

Chuck is one of those artists that just seem to have me in mind when he writes his songs. He had an entire album of Baseball songs, LORi gave it to me for my birthday last year. He also had funny political songs about the liars in the current administration, people using religion as an excuse to kill each other, and playing ping pong with his father. I'm sure that you, my Gentle Readers, recognize all of those except for ping pong as common themes of my entry. I did have a ping pong table in my basement and played often with my father as a kid just as Chuck played with his. Oh yes, he also had a Jew on Christmas song. I have to write Sean Altman and tell him to book Chuck for next year's Jewmongous . Chuck said he was interested.

What i really like is that Chuck is an actual folk singer not a singer/songwriter. Most of his songs are not personal spilling his emotional guts songs but stories and political commentary. It isn't that I don't like singer/songwriters it is just that you hear so much of it and so little true folk.

I missed about half of the Quebe Sisters set talking to Chuck and Bill but I liked what I caught of it. They were not what I expected. They are three sisters from Texas dressed like a Country Western Band but they play swing for the most part and sound like the Andrew Sisters.

Diana Jones still impressed me the second time seeing her in eight days. I also heard her on John Platt's show that morning. This time I talked to her after the show. I might see her again on Tuesday night. I'm not sure. I'm seeing Saburah Tuesday but we have no specific plans and I'm not even sure what time we are seeing each other.

I also talked to Diana's accompanist, Beau Stapleton. He's great. I found out that he designed the 5 string electric mandolin built like a guitar that he plays and had a luthier build it for him.

It started to rain during Diana's set. I put on my WFUV poncho even though it never rained that hard. It was also cool and I was tired, I had been there for five hours by the time she was done so I didn't stay around for Garnet Rogers. Of course by the time I finished talking to everyone it was already 5:30.

I just got a call from Charis and found that the termites will be more expensive to take care of than she thought. Terminex is coming today for an estimate. Then we are going out to look at Coops.

I better get going. I have to shower before they get here and I want to make breakfast. I'm going to try my hand at an omelet today. I found directions how to make a good one online last night. I wish I had some ham I'm going to put salami, Swiss and provolone cheese, and maybe peanut butter in it. I'll let you know how it tastes.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 20, 2007
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!