I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 21, 2003 - 1:07 a.m.

To everything there is a season

My life went pretty simply today. I talked to Carey, tutored Hilary, went to the Met game, and talked to Leah. Lots of good things but nothing out of the ordinary.

After doing all those things I turned on the VCR and watched the last episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. It�s the end of an era. I�d done more complaining about the show the last for years than praising it and it was time for it to end but I�ll still miss it.

I missed the very first episode but I caught it when they repeated it later the same week. In the first season every episode aired twice and I actually watched some of them twice. It was a breath of fresh air. The way I described it was Heathers meets H.P. Lovecraft. The writing was brilliant. Each episode had action, drama, and humor. The characters were saving the world while living as high school students and were totally aware of the humor and the tragedy in it. When I talked about it with Bad Carey we�d say that watching Buffy was church.

When the second season started I thought it was declining. That is till Spike and Dru came into town. They turned things right around. I thought it was shark jumping time the third season till the Mayor took center stage. Once again the show got back it focus.

The later seasons always seems thrown together. They characters acted out of character. It lost the Lovecraftian elements. I still kept coming back though. I had to know what was happening to Buffy, Xander, Willow, and Giles. I didn�t want to lose touch with them.

Now they are all in rerun heaven (excepting guest appearances on Angel). I�m not sure how I feel about the finale. I�m not going to discuss it.

I don�t know what Joss is doing now. Perhaps he�ll find the magic again with a new series. Maybe somebody else will make a show that I have to watch every week. Maybe some other show will become church. I�m not going to say it won�t happen. I�ll just hope for the best.

Today�s quote isn�t taken at random. It�s what came to my mind. Words adapted by Pete Seeger from the Book of Ecclesiastes.

To Everything (Turn, Turn, Turn)
There is a season (Turn, Turn, Turn)
And a time for every purpose, under Heaven

A time to be born, a time to die
A time to plant, a time to reap
A time to kill, a time to heal
A time to laugh, a time to weep

To Everything (Turn, Turn, Turn)
There is a season (Turn, Turn, Turn)
And a time for every purpose, under Heaven

A time to build up,a time to break down
A time to dance, a time to mourn
A time to cast away stones, a time to gather stones together

To Everything (Turn, Turn, Turn)
There is a season (Turn, Turn, Turn)
And a time for every purpose, under Heaven

A time of love, a time of hate
A time of war, a time of peace
A time you may embrace, a time to refrain from embracing

To Everything (Turn, Turn, Turn)
There is a season (Turn, Turn, Turn)
And a time for every purpose, under Heaven

A time to gain, a time to lose
A time to rend, a time to sew
A time to love, a time to hate
A time for peace, I swear it's not too late


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 21, 2003
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!