I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 19, 2003 - 11:55 p.m.

I'm late, I'm late, for a very important date

I�m a bit annoyed today. First off I was supposed to tutor Alma today. I go to school just to see her and she never showed. That killed my entire day. The only bright side is that I saved the price of calling Carey since I called from school.

I�m more annoyed at my student that missed the final because he had the date and time wrong. I kept telling them that it was just when the class normally meets, that�s how evening classes work. If you look on the academic calendar it tells you that. If you look on the final schedule it told you that. He still contrived to go a day late. His average is in the 90s so I don�t think he was just angling to get more study time in. I was actually OK with that. He was just being a donut. What I�m annoyed at is that he emailed me Thursday night and wanted to know when he could make it up. I emailed him right back and said Monday because I�d be in school then. He didn�t bother to check his email till today. He is so worried about getting it over with as soon as possible but he didn�t check his email. I emailed him back today and said that today was the last day I planned on going to school but I�ll make a special trip for him on Wednesday. Did he apologize for not making me make an extra trip into the city because he didn�t read his email? No. That annoys me. It isn�t an entitlement on his part. He should be going out of his way to make things easier for me, not the other way around.

That�s my complaining quota for he day. Well one more thing. The other day I found a Kenny Rogers Roasters Express in the city. I planned on eating there today and couldn�t find it. I must have walked right by it. I love Kenny Rogers and they closed all the ones that I used to go to.

The day started off great. My weight is down to 174.5, that�s the lowest it has been in many months, maybe a year. I was good today too. I made sure to walk from Penn Station to school and back again. I wanted to walk up to the 12th floor to get by check but ran out of gas on the 6th floor. I took the elevator from there but it only took me to the 11th floor. The elevators at school are insane. I didn�t mind, I wanted to walk as much as possible.

I didn�t like the way I handled something recently. A friend of mine said something really ridiculous. It annoyed me and I let it get to me. I shouldn�t have. I know where it came from. I don�t know what I should have done though. I don�t think letting it go unchallenged is right either. I could have gently disagreed and pointed out the gaping flaw in her logic. I don�t think you can really do that gently though. When somebody says white is black what can you do? Another option is just smiling and not commenting. Anyone have any suggestions?

Today�s quote is from Emerson�s The American Scholar. It amazes me how I can usually find a good one on the first couple of pages that I look at.

This time, like all times, is a very good one, if we but know what to do with it.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 19, 2003
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!