I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 11, 2004 - 2:07 a.m.

Crazy Mixed up CD

Today I burned my first mix CD. I promised it to Emilie when she was here. I was going to post it here but realized I should wait till she gets it.

I�m going to have a lot of spare time between classes this semester and I�m going to spend some of it burning CDs. So here�s the deal. I want you to send me a theme for a mix CD and I�ll try and make one using only my CD collection. Think of the kind of thing you�d like to hear a radio station do for an hour. The only themes I don�t want are songs by a single artists. Covers of songwriter might work though. If I like your theme and I can find a CD�s worth of material I�ll send you the CD. Send your suggestions by lj comment, signing my guestbook, or emailing me.

It took me quite some time to figure out how to use the CD burning program. When I was done I went to my office to prepare the liner notes then changed my mind and decided to do that at home so I just played online. I wasted so much time that I missed the show I wanted to see tonight, the Professor and Maryann. I could have used a dose of them too. Oh well, they play often enough. One of these days I�ll have to take someone to see them. They are really good but I always see them alone.

My mind has been on politics so much recently. I guess with the elections coming up it isn�t surprising. My thoughts have ranged far further a field than the election. I�ve thought often of the horror of the Beslan school massacre and the kind of people that could commit such an atrocity. I�ve thought about the dysfunctional NY State government and how I think the only way to solve it is by having non-partisan redistricting. I�ve thought about how much you don�t want to hear me go and on about the virtues of non-partisan redistricting so I�m not going to write about it. I�ve thought about how sometimes non-emotional technical issues that can make big differences in our lives.

Of course I don�t want to write about any of these things. They are either too unpleasant or too dry. I thought of writing a really thoughtful piece that might force you to think about things you don�t want to think about. I might still write that one.

Instead I�ll just let things be for tonight and hope that you thank me by sending in those mix CD themes.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 11, 2004
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!