I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 10, 2004 - 1:16 a.m.

oO Everyone will hate you on the first day of school Oo

The first day of school was rough. When I checked my mailbox I had the rosters for the afternoon class I was originally going to teach as well as the evening class I was told I would be teaching. I knew I couldn�t be teaching both of them and was confused as to what to do. To make things worse the afternoon class was immediately following my calculus class so I�d have no time to resolve things later. The chairman wasn�t in but Anna the Admin Asst. told me that she�d be in soon and was working to get my afternoon class to run. I went to the calculus class, armed with the dry erase marker I knew I�d need to find that there was no eraser in the room and none to be had. This was the second day of school, my first, and the eraser had already been stolen. I�m going to have to go and buy one.

When I got back to the department office after class I found out that nothing had changed and I went up to teach the afternoon class. There were 8 people registered but only 6 people there. After teaching for 40 minutes Anna came in and told me that the class was cancelled. Everyone in the class had to either transfer to my evening class or the other daytime class that was already filled. They�d open it up to accommodate them.

Now a new problem arose as on my roster for the evening class the room was listed as TBA and Anna still didn�t know what it was. It took another 20 minutes for her to find out.

When I got back I was fortunate enough to have a message from LORi on my phone and called her back. It was a good thing I was able to vent to someone or I think I might have killed somebody.

What was the root cause of all this trouble? The stupid administration assigns the freshman to the two daytime remedial classes. Instead of splitting them evenly then send them all to one class then whoever is left over to the other. So one class is overcrowded and the other didn�t run at all. This pretty much shortchanged every student.

The evening class was small, only 7 people registered, it will be enlarged by people from my other class next week. It went OK but it was not a good way to start the semester.

Before school I went to the bank and found out that my ATM card had expired and I hadn�t been sent a new one. That meant running over to the actual bank and getting a new one. I�m glad they issued it right then and there. When my mother needed a new one, they had to mail it to her.

After the banking adventure I got a haircut right by the train station. I went to Supercuts. Yes I actually went to a chain hair stylist. I think I got a good haircut and I liked the stylist (if she were a man I�d say a barber, is that sexist?). I think I�ll try them again. I really should have gotten her name. I�d recognize her but I can�t ask for her.

So that was my frustrating first day of school. I don�t have any Walden quotes because I didn�t bring my highlighter with me. I�m sure you are all crushed. I�m thinking of doing some more changes to my Cast. I made one alteration since yesterday for a Pilgrim Soul.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 10, 2004
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!