I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 12, 2004 - 2:38 a.m.

No small potatoes

It is too late to write a full update. Too bad, I actually had some ideas. Maybe I�ll actually remember them tomorrow.

Tonight was a night of confusion. Almost exactly two years ago Christine Lavin recommended the band, Small Potatoes to me. Every time they played in the area I couldn�t make it. Tonight I saw they were playing at Pete�s Candy Store, a small venue in the back of a bar, with the virtue of having neither a cover nor a minimum. I had totally forgotten about the gig till I was waiting for the train to into Manhattan. I didn�t know what I was going to do tonight and was looking at the Press listings when I noticed that I had circled the Small Potatoes show. I�m glad that I noticed it before I got on the train as the show was in Brooklyn and a very easy drive from my house. I went home, checked on the directions and got there at five to nine, the show was listed in the press to start at nine. When I got there, there was a poetry reading. When the poet finished another poet started reading. When the third one came on I went out to the bar and asked what was going on, the bartender told me that Small Potatoes went on at 11. This is the second time that happened to me there. Next time I call them and find out the time before I make plans.

I started to drive home but realized with the traffic I wouldn�t really have much time once I got there. I was in Queens by then. I stopped at Baskin-Robbins had a sundae, then drove back, taking advantage of the time to listen to Vin Scelsa. His show was really good. His guest was John Cale. OK here�s a question for you, how many of you know who John Cale is? If you do drop me a note. He is the kind of person you really should know but I�m not sure you do.

I got back to Pete�s at ten after ten and there was a band on stage. This was more my speed so I stayed. They were followed by a duo then kept on saying. �Are we done yet?� The crowd kept telling them to keep playing, they went well past there time. I wish whoever ran the venue told them to stop. They weren�t very good and I wanted to see Small Potatoes.

SP finally went on a little after 11:30. They were quite different than I expected, a country/rockabilly band. Not Christine�s usual taste. It took me a bit to warm up to them but decided that they were good. They snapped me out of my funk and put me in a good mood. They even collected money for a Pro-Kerry/Anti-Bush PAC. I was going to tell them how Christine recommended them to me but they seemed busy after the show. That was a good thing. When I got home I checked out the SP website and saw that it was a different band. The Small Potatoes that Christine recommended was a duo out of Chicago. I had even seen them since they were a FRFF emerging artist showcase most wanted act back in 1999. What I saw tonight was a totally different band. Someone should talk to them about changing their name.

Wow this short entry ended up being not so short. Oh well.

I have a Walden quote for you tonight.

A farmer, a hunter, a soldier, a reporter, even a philosopher, may be daunted; but nothing can deter a poet, for he is actuated by pure love.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 12, 2004
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!