I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2000-12-31 - 15:26:25

Mais où sont les nieges d'antan

I started to write this last night at just about midnight then My Beloved, Beatific, Batnosed Embryo called and we didn't get off the phone till 3:40 AM. So lets see if I can remember what I was going to say. I gave my Brain the weekend off so this will be tough.

It snowed yesterday. An honest to Lawrence snow storm. A full foot of snow fell, I love it. I paid someone to shovel the walk so it was pure joy. I love walking in freshly falling snow. It purifies the world. All the dirt and corruption is covered with virginal white. Have you ever noticed that it changes the sounds too? All the sounds are softer as there are no hard surfaces for the sounds to reflect off of, pure magic.

In the evening I went off to see Pal Shazar sing. Pal is Jules Shears' ex and a wonderful singer in her own right. I used to be quite friendly with her. She moved to California and I haven't seen her in about a year. My car is still buried in snow and the roads were still not good so I decided to walk to the Long Island Railroad. Its about a mile and a third so takes me about 25 minutes. I love walking in the deep snow. Its great exercise and a challenge. I got all bundled up, got my Herman Survivor Boots out of mothballs and started off with virtually no time to spare. I walked hard and made it to the train station with a full 2 minutes to spare. I didn't really expect the train to be on time but miracle of miracles it was.

I got to Penn station had a cafe mocha at Seattle Roasters and got on the Subway down to the lower east side. Pal was playing at Baby Jupiter a cool venue in the new hot artistic neighborhood. I get there and see that the chairs are all stacked up and the show isn't listed. I asked and found out it was cancelled. ARRGGGGHHH> I spent $15 traveling round trip and there was no show.

I decided to drown my sorrows in CDs. My favourite used CD store was closed and I broke one of my hard and fast rules. I bought some CDs full price. Here's what I bought.

Richard Thopmson:"You? Me? Us?" a two disc set I don't know it at all but its RT so I'll love it. Richard Thompson is God.

Neil Young: "Road Rock:Friends and Relatives" a live album that includes that great version of "All Along the Watchtower" featuring the always cool Chrissie Hynde, that I raved about in a previous diary entry.

Crash Test Dummies: "The Ghosts That Haunt Me" This includes Superman's Song one of the really special songs. I never knew who sang it till this year but had to have it. I think i'm going to become a big CTD fan. I don't understand why they aren't big among Fruheads. To me its a natural fit.

Richard Thompson: "Mock Tudor" This is the CD that got me into the CD stores in the first place. I had been meaning to buy it all year, its his new CD. Carey got it for Christmas and that was my catalyst for action.

Van Morrison:"Tupelo Honey" For pure beauty its hard to beat Van the Man. The song "Tupelo Honey" is so sweet(pun fully intended) a classic.

After the hit on the bank account for the CDs I wasn't feeling bad at all thanks to that beautiful snow. Snow also gets me thinking. On the way home I started pondering a line by François Villon; "Mais où sont les nieges d'antan": "Where now the snows of yesteryear." Its one of those lines that says so much with so little. James Branch Cabell who is never far from my thoughts chose one of his place names from that line, Antan. Antan is the true home of all god's and poets so of course it has a soft spot in my heart. I guess Lawrence and I will both have to go there eventually.

My next entry will be the last of the Millennium, I guess I'll have to do one of those thousand years in review things.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2000-12-31
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!