I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-11-27 - 3:59 p.m.

A Festivus Carol

On Monday after school I went out to tutor Leah . This wasn�t supposed to take all day but it did. I got there a few minutes after four and was told that Leah had something to take care of and would be back at 5:30. Leah tried to call me but couldn�t reach me. I used the time to explore Montclair and get something to eat.

Tutoring was fun as usual. We do actually get some work done between talking about everything else under the sun. Our timing was good as Leah had to leave for an audition just when I had to leave to catch my train.

I got to the train station with a few minutes to spare. When the train came it was coming the wrong direction. It wasn�t my train, it was an outbound train on the wrong track. This happens quite often on the LIRR so I wasn�t too concerned. Ten minutes later another train came going the wrong direction. I asked the conductor what was going on and he said that my train was going to be half an hour late and would come on the same track. I wasn�t happy about this, it was cold and I was tired but I could live with it.

Just when my train should have arrived another outbound train arrived. When it pulled out we saw that the inbound train was stopped at the outbound track. There had been one announcement the entire time I was there but no one could hear what was said. Perhaps it told us to cross to the other side. We crossed over to get on the train and it started pulling out. I couldn�t believe this. When an LIRR train stops on the wrong track it waits for everyone to cross over. This one left even though the motorman saw us running to the train. We had no opportunity to cross to the other side before because of the other train. I was furious. I called NJ transit and asked when the next train would be. He told me when it was scheduled to arrive which I already knew. I told him I knew the schedule I wanted to know if was going to be on time. If it wasn�t I would go someplace where I could wait inside where it was warm. He said he could only tell me when it was scheduled and acted like I was being an idiot for asking then hung up.

I called back and got someone else who actually went and found out if it was delayed. She told me it was delayed up to half an hour. This wasn�t really useful as that still meant I couldn�t go inside and wait in comfort. It could be half an hour late or it could come on time. I then asked which track it was coming in on. She went to find that out and while she was gone the train came. It was on time.

The timing was terrible and I missed my connection to the LIRR by 3 minutes so I had to wait around another half an hour at Penn Station. All in all the trip home took 3 hours and spent seven hours to tutor for one hour. Good thing Leah is worth it. It really is so much fun to spend time with her.

Yesterday all I did was tutor Alma in my office. The highlight of the day was watching Buffy, it was the best episode in years.

The holiday season is approaching and I�d like to share the holiday that I celebrate, Festivus. Some of you might recognize it as the holiday that George�s family celebrates on Seinfeld. We took the name from that but we forgo the Airing of grievances and the feats of strength. Instead Festivus is the ecumenical holiday. It is always awkward when exchanging cards and gifts with someone from a different faith? Should I a Jewish Atheist, Solomaniac, send a Christian/Pagan a Christmas card? A Chanukkah Card? The answer that we�ve come up with is to send a Festivus card. Festivus runs from the day after Thanksgiving to Lawrencemas, January 25th.

Festivus discards the religious rituals from the holiday and leaves the holiday spirit. Festivus is about giving, about being kind to others. Festivus is about appreciating the good things in your life. It�s about loving your friends and family. Festivus is free of commercial excess of Christmas and Chanukkah. On Festivus we send each other presents and cards. We play in the snow. We watch the traditional Festivus movies, A Christmas Story and It�s A Wonderful Life.

If you want to wish me well wish me a Happy Festivus. While your at it wish Carey one too. She�ll be spending her first Festivus in Chicago. She�s starting the long drive out there today. If you want to write a guest entry for her diary while she�s in transit Email it to me and I�ll post it.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-11-27
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!