I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-11-28 - 11:23 p.m.

Thank You, We'll be here all week. Try the veal.

Part of me wants to write a sappy thanksgiving entry. I really am sappy at heart. It's not that I think everything is great in the world. The Cabell quote at the top of the page is closer to what I believe. It's just that I think I am happier when I don't dwell on the bad things. Life isn't perfect but it could be much worse.

All that being said I think I don't think I should follow the Festivus entry with a list of things I'm thankful for. Read through my diary and you can figure it out yourself.

We went to Louis and Sylvia's house for Thanksgiving. Louis has been my sister Alison's friend since high school Sylvia was her college roommate. She introduced them, and they got married. I'm not sure how many years but their oldest child is 27 so it's longer than that.

They started inviting us for the Passover Seder years ago; this is our first Thanksgiving with them. Most of our family has either moved away or died so it's nice to have someone to spend the holidays with.

We missed the last two Seders, the first because I was in the hospital, and last year because my father was. I was still able to find their house without any trouble. Perhaps its because I enjoy going there. I'm not a big person on family get-togethers but I enjoy it at their house. It reminds me a bit of Elena's wedding, it is funny but it still has all the warm feelings.

I got to see Alison and Max again, less than a week since the last time. Next year Max will have a house at school so I'm planning on crashing with him for a DVN concert. He had some exciting news. His jazz band has been invited by Castro to go to Cuba.

Tomorrow night is the first night of Chanukkah so we celebrated that since everyone was there today and not tomorrow. It really snuck up on me, Chanukkah doesn't usually come so early. I did enlighten everyone about the Festivus tradition. I promised Max I'd have a Festivus pole. The holiday is starting tomorrow, I better get to work and design my card.

It's been a pretty boring evening. I watched Man in the Moon for the first time. I liked it but my mind kept wandering. I'm feeling a bit lonely right now.

I used to write Carey emails when I got lonely and she wasn't around. I'm trying to break myself of that habit. I have my guest entry planned for her but not many people have read Betsy's yet so I want to give people more time. I could still use two more guest entries for Carey.

I really should have done grading tonight but I couldn't bring myself to do it. I'll try to do some tomorrow.

I got some annoying news the other day. Annie Haslam is playing the Bottom Line on Saturday night and I already have tickets to see Christine Lavin. Annie was the lead singer for Renaissance, the first band that I ever followed. I haven't seen her for years. I'll have to check to see if she is playing anywhere else. .

This entry isn't going anywhere and I can't figure out how to end it. I hate it when it just peters out. Sometimes that's just the way ...


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-11-28
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!