I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-11-25 - 3:09 p.m.

I could have danced all night

Ever notice how often I start my entry with excuses for why it is going to be lame? This is no exception. I have lots to write about and I have to finish it in time to get down to make my train.

I had a wonderful weekend. I went to my Cousin Elena's wedding. Elena doesn't fit in with the rest of my family; she'd fit in perfectly with my friends. She reminds me of Leah more than anyone. As might be expected her wedding was out of the ordinary.

On Saturday morning I drove my Sue, Mike, and my mother down to Philadelphia. I got settled into my room at 12:45 which was a bit later than made me comfortable since Carey was supposed to get there at 1:00. She was punctual as always and at 1:01 I got a call from the front desk asking if they should let Carey up to my room. After some debate I said yes. After the usual hugs we got down to the business of giving each other presents and returning all the things I had left at her apartment over the last two years.

After spending some time talking and looking at the Buffy Magazine we went out on the important mission of buying me a pair of socks. When I packed for the wedding I forgot to bring dress socks. We found a mall not too far from the hotel and were able to get slimy pasta, yummy brownies, and as an afterthought socks.

When we got back to the room we found out that I had to pick my nephew up at the airport. We didn't really mind. We found the airport without a hitch and got to the gate 10 seconds before Max did. Even though she had never met him Carey spotted him first.

When we got back to the room Max took a walk while Carey changed into her dress, back to her every day clothes then back into her dress. I somehow resisted ravishing (ravaging) her when she was in the dress. It wasn't easy and I really should get a cookie for showing such self-control.

Alison suggested that we get to the wedding early since she was told that we could explore the museum before the ceremony. The wedding was held at the Fels planetarium in the Franklin Institute, one of my favorite places on earth. We found out that we weren't really allowed to go into the museum without paying but we did find our way into some of the exhibits and had fun seeing what Carey would look like when she was my age and walking through a giant heart.

We went back to the planetarium and played some computer games till the ceremony began. No one saved a seat for us so we had to sit in the back of the planetarium. This really wasn't such a bad thing since that is actually a great place to sit.

The ceremony was by far the best I've ever been to. It was non-religious and performed by a friend of theirs. It was illustrated by projections on the dome and highlighted by a wonderful Power Point production. We learned the couple's history including the fact that Elena's family and friends were all pirates.

The ceremony was incredibly funny yet as moving as any that I've been to. We laughed and Carey cried. Their vows stressed how they wouldn't expect their partner to change but would accept the changes that would occur. That's as good as advice for a married couple as I've heard. The marriage was sealed with the candy eating ceremony, is there anything more binding than a Hershey's kiss?

The reception was held at the Academy of Natural Sciences, which is right down the block. First came the hors d'oeuvres in the hall of mammals. The band played jazz with a klezmer twist. I introduced Carey to all the relatives that I knew. There were quite a few that I had never met. Some I hadn't seen it 30 years.

The reception was held in the hall of dinosaurs. Our place cards had little dinosaurs glued to them. As a true gentleman I let Carey keep ours. We were at a table with my mother, my aunts, and cousin's family.

We were able to get a few photos of us which I hope to get copies of to put up here. Carey says I clean up well and I'd like to be able to prove it.

This was the first wedding I ever went to with a date that I danced at. When I was young I was too self-conscious to dance. I missed out on a lot of fun. Dancing with Carey was about as much fun as anything I've ever done. We did slow dances, we attempted to waltz, and we did our own original dances that anyone else would be too ashamed to admit. The singer was a bit out of his depth on the pop standards but at the end they switched to all Zydeco, a wonderful surprise. It seems that they are really a Zydeco band and once the accordion and washboard came out they rocked the Casbah.

Carey had a long ride home and I thought she might leave early but she stayed to the last dance. By the end of the evening I was exhausted but very happy. I walked her back to the hotel where she changed and picked up her stuff. We said our good-byes and somehow managed to not cry too much. This was the last time I'm seeing her before she moves to Chicago to be with Neal. We might never have so much quality time alone again. She's the best friend I ever had.

I'm leaving out so much. Dancing with Alison, hearing from all the relatives about how they remember me as a little kid. Telling Harris that I remember him as a little kid. Breakfast with the family in the morning. Walking to the Liberty Bell with Alison and Max.

I was afraid I might catch some flack for spending all my time with Carey but everyone understood. I'm glad we spent out last time together doing something special.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-11-25
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!