I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-12-05 - 12:51 a.m.

Wake Up Calls

Today started with two phone calls. The first was from Carey. She wasn't feeling well and wanted my medical advice. The one advantage of having everything possible go wrong with your digestive system is that you learn things. Aubrey's a doctor and he asks my medical advice too. I wasn't able to help her much though. We discussed what foods to avoid, dairy, OJ, and what to eat, toast, bananas. I told her to call in sick and go to her doctor. She was too conscientious an employee for that though and went to work.

The next call was from my father's doctor. He wanted to start my father on dialysis and wanted input from the family. I said yes, it is the only thing they can think of that might help.

That was a lot to take in before I left for work in the morning. I generally leave very little free time for myself before work but somehow I still managed to get to school on time. I was even able to bring my pants to the drycleaner before I caught my train.

School was fairly uneventful. I did one of my rants about the textbook though. They really seemed to have been on drugs while making up the problem sets. I wrote some of my own and handed them out to the class to do for homework. Next semester I might just make up all the problems on the topic, radical equations.

I am hoping to be able to finish off the syllabus on Thursday. I have to teach the quadratic formula and the properties of "i" the square root of negative one then. I think I'll be able to do it. Students won't put in the effort to memorize so many of the things I tell them they should but they manage to learn the quadratic formula.

I haven't told them this yet but I'll probably make the last test a take home test. I'd rather use the classroom time to review for the final. It will also help bring their grades up.

After school I came home, rested and went to see my father. When I got there they had already prepared him for dialysis, he had two tubes sticking out of his neck. I hope my mother and my sisters can handle seeing that. He'll get used to it, it is amazing what you can get used to. When I left they were taking him down for his first dialysis. I hope that it works. If it doesn't it is back to square one in treating him.

On my way out of the hospital I ran into Nancy, my favorite nurse. She was happy that I remembered her name. How could I not? She was special. She not only took care of all my needs, she treated me like a person not a patient. She used to come by my room just to talk to me. It made me feel so good talking to her again. She is also gosh darn cute which makes seeing her even more pleasant.

Time for a bit of a political rant. As most of you know 25 Israelis have been killed in attacks by suicide bombers recently. Hamas has taken credit for the killings. Sharon decided to retaliate by attacking PLO installations. One of these was next to a school and one 15-year-old boy died and many more were injured. The suicide bombings were heinous. Hamas has no respect for human life. Attacking the PLO is not the solution though. Without their cooperation the guilty parties will not be caught. Arafat then did what he does best, cry to the world about being a victim and totally ignoring his own culpability. The Palestinian Authority under Arafat has released Hamas terrorist. If he treated them as criminals they would not be as free to carry out their attacks. He does not seem to have the backbone to face his own people and do what is necessary to achieve peace. Both sides in the conflict are going to have to make sacrifices and accept compromises. Arafat knows that but will not say that to his people. He pretends like they can have everything they want at no cost. A strong leader somewhere is going to have to make the hard choices. I don't see where he is going to come from though. The president of the United States could do tremendous good but Bush is not willing to risk his prestige to achieve peace.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-12-05
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!