I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 05, 2008 - 2:26 a.m.

One Day of the Horvendile

First the health report. When I awoke this morning I was all better.

As I was back to normal I couldn't use being sick as an excuse so I simply procrastinated as always. I joke about it but it really bothers me. I did manage to get a lot of cleaning done and I did prepare my famous French toast bread pudding for tomorrow. I need to do more cleaning tomorrow and maybe a bit of shopping. I have to see how I'm doing on paper plates and such.

I managed to get the bedrooms that my overnight guests, LORi, Steve, their son Andrew, and Paul will be sleeping in. I even remembered to wash the sheets.

Tomorrow I have to vacuum, put a few things away and set up my living room for the house concert. Right now I have 23 people coming. I think that is four more than I had for Jim Infantino, my previous record. I should be able to fit them in. I hope I can do so without moving the coffee table. Three more people might actually show up. If the do I'll squeeze them in. They are people that I really want to be there.

I really don't have that much to do tomorrow. I have to vacuum and prepare my proscuitto-provolone rolls. Yes that is exactly what I made my last house concert. I am being culinary adventurous in with the French toast bread pudding. I made one of the loaves with chocolate chips. I never tried that before and just followed my own idea on how to add them. OK how well do you know me? If it works what will I try next time? I'll give the answer next entry.

I even procrastinated about writing this entry. At midnight I grabbed myself a snack and turned on the TV. That was the mistake. Three Days of the Condor was on. I thought I had seen the film but I hadn't. After five minutes I was totally hooked and couldn't turn it off. That is the mark of a great film.

I have to get to bed so I'll wrap this up with another round of "What's playing on my CD changer?"

  1. Deni Bonet � Acoustic OK?
  2. Rickie Lee Jones � The Sermon on Exposition Boulevard
  3. Warfield Suite � Heaven in my Mind
  4. Sweet Honey in the Rock � Experience ... 101
  5. Brian Dunne and the Dial-Up � Demo


    I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
    please hold me accountable.





    Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
    Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
    The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
    On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
    Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



    creative commons
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
    Horvendile January 05, 2008
    site search by freefind advanced


    Follow on Feedly



    about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!