I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 06, 2008 - 10:52 a.m.

The Head Bone's Connected to the Lipbone

Just a quickie update before my houseguests get out of bed. The house concert rocked the Kasbah. It was my largest one yet. Twenty-four guests came. This was also the first time I had a band; Lipbone brought his Orchestra. That�s just Jeff on Bass and Phil on percussion. Jeff is my friend and I know Lipbone through him.

The quick version is people brought just the right amount of food. I got complimented on my French toast bread pudding. Everyone had fun. The music was great and the audience was into it. Lipbone and Jeff both complimented me on the audience. They hung around for a fairly long time after the show and after everyone who wasn�t spending the night left.

Andrew, Steve, and Paul went to sleep at one. As always Lori and I stayed up later and as always it took several attempts for us to break it up for the night.

When I woke up this morning I felt cold. The furnace is out again. I called the service company and the said they�d be here this morning. Steve is going to go out and pick up bagels and things to put on them. Hopefully we�ll be able to get out of here not too late and have fun in the City.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 06, 2008
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!