I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 01, 2010 - 10:59 a.m.

It's All Happening at the Zoë

I'm supposed to be writing now. That means I am supposed to know what I'm writing about. I had a great idea last night. I don't have the faintest idea what it is now. You'd think I'd learn to write these things down. You'd think the Coyote would learn that it would be easier to use all the money he spends on Acme products on food rather than trying to catch the Roadrunner. Where does he get the money to pay for it? Where is it delivered? Does he have a mailbox someplace? At least now he doesn't have to mail away for the stuff I'm sure he buys it all online. He's a big fan of Woot.

I didn't exchange bodily fluids with a female in my bed last night but I did get tongue from a guy I met for the second time.

Last night I went to the Music Over Manhattan house concert to see the irrepressible Zoë Lewis. Do I need to tell you I had a fantastic time? Is it possible to see Zoë and not have a huge smile on your face when she's done? Part of the fun of house concerts is socializing with the other people. I sat with Meg. I knew from Facebook that Meg was going and even if I didn't I wouldn't be surprised to see her. She is the person that I run into the most without planning on going with. Can someone recast that sentence into English please? I don't mind ending a sentence with a preposition but that sentence is as awkward as me trying to waltz. The only other people I knew in the audience were Tom, the host, Zoë's girlfriend Sharon, and Lois who I know from open mics on Long Island. You know how I'm not exactly a fan of open mics? Lois is someone I actually look forward to seeing. She's funny.

Part of the fun of course is meeting new people. Ally who acted as hostess just friended me on Facebook. I had a great conversation with D.J. I should have gotten her contact info. There was even a neighbor of mine there. He heard I was from Briarwood, he asked where, he lives one block or two away. I almost forgot Macho, Tom's dog. I think he's a Yorkie, or at least part Yorkie. He's tiny, the name must be to build up his ego. He's the one that gave me tongue. I felt guilty, Meg was petting him and I was the one receiving his affection. Sorry Meg.

Zoë Lewis is someone I feel confident in recommending to anyone. She is a pure entertainer. You don't need to be a aficionado of any particular genre for music or have sophisticated tastes, you just have to have a pulse, she'll set it racing. She is filled with energy and humor and the joy of being alive. In a word she is FUN. Meg and I are going to double team John Platt and get him to book her for On Your Radar.

I didn't bring my camera last night but here is a video I took of Zoë another time.

I see that I left a single word at the end of the page "haircuts." I left it there to remind me what I wanted to write about. Good thing, I would have forgotten otherwise. I've written an inordinate amount about putting my hair in a pony tail. What I love is that it lets me have long hair and keep it somewhat under control. I've had long hair most of my life. I was delighted when it became the style in the 60s. While I do like the way it looks that isn't the main reason I like my hair long. No, the real reason is that I hate getting haircuts. Perhaps it is because my earliest memory of a barber, from when I was about 3, is him nicking my ear. I don't think that really is it though. I just don't like having to sit in a chair while someone does things with my head. I feel the same way about dentists and when they put make-up on me when I was on Jeopardy. I have always put off getting haircuts as long as possible. It was never a fashion statement or being rebellious, it was avoiding something I don't like. I'm wondering now with the pony tail if I can simply never go to a barber again? Can I just clip the end of the pony tail myself when it looks ragged? That would be a joy if I've had my last trip to the barber. Oddly enough I want to experience at least once getting a shave from a barber. When I decide to remove the beard I might go that route. So yes I would rather have someone with a razor at my throat than get a haircut. I never said it was rational.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 01, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!