I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 02, 2010 - 12:05 p.m.

Bonet Part

Insert your own "I can't believe I wasted so much time this morning" introduction. I have been up for over three hours, make sure to include that.

Yesterday I went shopping, graded tests, and realized that there is no way I had time to go into New Jersey to see Sloan Wainwright at a house concert like I planned. What I feel extra bad about is that Cadence Carroll was accompanying her. I miss her as a performer and a friend.

One of the compensations for missing the show and the guilt for cancelling on a house concert (it was sold out and I'm sure some wait list person took my place), was getting to watch the Mets. I was duly punished for my sins, the Mets lost.

The other compensation is that I went into the City to see Deni Bonet at the Living Room. The show was at 9, late enough that I was able to get a lot of work done before I left. I also used the Subway ride as a chance to read the Times on the way in and The Greatest Show on Earth by Richard Dawkins on the ride home.

I expected more friends at the show but the only people I knew were Todd and Christine who I sat with. I thought that Christine's husband Aiden would be there too but he was called away on a business trip hiking the Appalachian Trail to Argentina. In the small world category the first time I met Christine and Aiden was when their duo Friction Farm played SMAF. I drove Deni to the festival and when I got Met Aiden I discovered that he worked for the same company as Deni's husband Andy. Not only that but they lived a few blocks from each other. That made introducing them mandatory.

Deni is recording a new CD with a new band is and is looking for a name for the band. She didn't like my suggestions; Charmed Quark, Ermine Violin, The Bonet-parts. Do you get all the references? OOO, I just thought of a new one, The Deni- Zens. I'll have to tell her so she can tell me, "NEXT!"

Deni was under a lot of pressure because I told her that she was responsible for perking me up from the depression I get from grading. She succeeded. Deni is one of the great spirit lifters. I would love to see Deni and Zoe Lewis on the same bill. Deni has a song to describe that, Too Much Fun.

I of course planned a quick getaway and of course did not succeed. First Christine and I waited to talk to Deni as she made her rounds talking to everyone. Then our quick "bye Deni" turned into a detailed discussion of traveling to Israel and Egypt and tattoos and ukuleles and ... you get the picture. Then Christine and I walked to the subway where we got on going in opposite directions so we talked forever in the station. I finally got home around 12:30 instead of the 10:30 I planned on. I enjoy talking to my friends, have you noticed?

Guess what I took photos. Here are a few.


Austin has been playing in a violinist's band too long, He has a strange notion of how to play a guitar.

The Uke band configuration.

That is a BASS uke. Its very existence is an oxymoron.

Deni was joined by Richard Barone.

What was with the weather yesterday? The temperature kept going up and was up to 83� when I went shopping so I dressed in shorts and a t-shirt. The temperature continued to rise and I'm guessing was 90� by the time I got home. I turned on my AC as soon as I got home. A few hours later I looked at the temperature indicator on my computer and it was 76�. I turned off the AC, turned on the fan, and the temperature in the room dropped. It was down to 70� before I left and figured it would get cold while I was out at night. I didn't.

This morning I made pancakes and I'm trying something different. I made the entire batter and refrigerated the leftovers cooked pancakes instead of the batter. I figured that will make breakfast tomorrow very quick, just pop them in the microwave. Why did my mother never make homemade pancakes? They are so good. I need to buy more mix now.

I am going to finish my grading today and stay up all night if I have to. I actually hope to be done before dinner. We'll see how long I can work at a sitting. That is the key. I have to read the Times and watch the Met game too.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 02, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!