I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 26, 2003 - 12:59 a.m.

Happy Birthday Mr Zimmerman

Oh how the mighty have fallen. Coming off my bridge high on Friday I went in today to make serious headway in gaining the 18 masterpoints I need to make life master. I was playing with Marco, Warren, and Steve, a stronger team than usual. We could have entered the BC flight for the weaker players but I said no, let�s play in Flight A. I try to do that whenever possible. I know I don�t have as good a chance of winning but playing against the good players is the only way to get better. So that�s what today was about getting better. We did terrible. Moreover I played terribly. I made so many mistakes. I wasn�t the only one, it was a team effort. I care most about my own though. I played so much better on Friday. One thing I need to do is play with Marco more often so that we can communicate better. Bidding is all about communicating.

On the plus side I did learn things. I played a round against world Champions. We didn�t get killed that round either. We had a good dinner at an Irish Pub. I saw Warren for the first time in years. I saw Kari for the first time in years. She wasn�t on our team but her teamed joined ours for dinner. I had lots of fun.

Kari got me thinking of something. I haven�t met her or her husband Sam many times. I�ve played with her once and I�ve been on teams with Sam. Yet they always have impressed me. They are just good people. Have you ever gotten that feeling about someone? I don�t know how reliable it is. The skeptic in me doubts. It just feels right and I believe it.


Shame on me. Yesterday, Saturday, was Bob Dylan�s birthday and I didn�t even mention it. I didn�t list him as hero on the FHDC �heroines and heroes� thread. That�s because that as much as I admire him as an artist I don�t admire him as a person. There is a line by Aldous Huxley about Isaac Newton that I think sums it up: �As a man he was a failure; as a monster he was superb."

So today�s quote is an early Dylan song, the title track from his third album, The Times They are A-Changin�

Come gather 'round people wherever you roam,
and admit that the waters around you have grown,
and accept it that soon you'll be drenched to the bone
if your time to you is worth savin'
then you better start swimmin'
or you'll sink like a stone
for the times they are a-changin'

Come writers and critics who prophecise with your pen
and keep your eyes wide,
the chance won't come again,
and don't speak too soon
for the wheel's still in spin
and there's no tellin' who
that it's namin'
for the loser now
will be later to win
for the times they are a-changin'

Come senators, congressmen,
please heed the call
don't stand in the doorway,
don't block the hall,
for he that' gets hurt
will be he who has stalled,
there's a battle
outside and it's ragin'
it'll soon shake your windows
and rattle your walls
for the times they are a-changin'

Come mothers and fathers
throughout the land,
and don't criticize
what you can't understand
your sons and your daughters
are beyond your command,
your old road is rapidly agin',
please get out of the new one if you can't lend your hand
for the times they are a-changin'

The line it is drawn,
the curse it is cast,
the slow one now will
later be fast,
as the present now
will later be past
the order is rapidly fadin'
and the first one now
will later be last
for the times they are a-changin'


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 26, 2003
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!