I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 05, 2014 - 12:53 p.m.

you got this

Where has the morning gone? I have so much work to do today and I'm going out tonight. That's the story of my life.

After updating late yesterday I graded tests for a while in my office. As it often happens that was frustrating. Some students had clearly never done the homework and didn't know how to start. It seems like some of them went for tutoring when I gave them the practice test and the tutor didn't know what she was doing. Many students did a problem the same inefficient way and of course usually got it wrong It was a very simple simplifying radicals problem and instead of doing it in two steps they were making tree diagrams that they didn't know what to do with.

What gets me more is how they don't know how to present the answers. I told them to not use scrap paper. So what did some students do? One student, a bright one, used the question paper as scrap paper and did all her work in a jumble on it. Then gave only the answers in the test book. Why do they think I give them an entire book? Math is about the process, the work is the entire point of the problem Another student put a line down each paper and did the work on one side and only gave the answers on the other. As the work takes more space they don't l.ine up with the answers. Does she expect me to hung for each question?

OK enough frustration the rest of the evening was great. I was back at Rockwood so I had dinner at Georgia Barbecue. They cut the portion on the fried chicken. It was a breast and two wings. It used to be half a chicken. The breast is enormous so that was enough food. In fact I couldn't finish my fries. But if I knew I'd have ordered dark meat. I'll ask about it next time.


Brittany Haas, Paul Kowert, and Jordan Tice

Rockwood Music Hall hosted the Communion Club show last night on all three stages. I don't actually know what it is but it's the second time they did it. This time things were better organized and they gave a time and stage for each performer. Each show has one act I really want to see. The first time it was Jean Rohe. This time it was Haas Kowert Tice. That's the clever band name that Brittany Haas, Paul Kowert, and Jordan Tice came up with. Good thing their music is a lot more creative than their band naming. They were down in Stage 3. I wanted to make sure I had a good seat, actually any seat, that I got there before the first act went on. They are the second. The way Communion shows work is that you can got back and forth through all three stages but only if the room isn't at capacity. I didn't have to actually worry as it wasn't near capacity for the first act and people that came in time for HKT could get in and some sat in the first row. I don't now the name of the first performer but I did manage to get the only good color picture that I ever got in Rockwood 3 of her. I saw that the light was hitting her just right so I took this.


I know it's dark but her hair actually looks blond not red like every other pic of everyone I've taken down there.

But now back to our story. There was a 40 minute gap between sets and I used the time to do more grading. It's a challenge using a red pen in a room with red light but I somehow managed.

Haas Kowert Tice just released their first CD, you got this, and this was the release show for it. They performed all the songs but one, the one that Brittany plays mandolin on as she didn't bring her mandolin. Her main instrument is fiddle. She only plays small instruments with multiples of four strings.

Their music is different than most of the music I and most of My Gentle Listeners usually hear. Almost all the songs are instrumentals. The album had no vocals. I describe it as folk chamber music. It's American performed as classical or classical performed as Americana. I'm not sure which. What I know is that it's as good as music gets. If you pay attention you get lost in the songs. It sounds simple but there is so much going on. Both the composition and performance are brilliant. I often hear people praise the musicianship of people that can't hold a candle to these guys. I'll use the expression that I quoted yesterday by Patrick Rothfuss, "music runs through them." They would get their silver pipes at the Eolian with no problem

I talked to them a bit before and after the show. Brittany I've known for years as she used to be with Crooked Still, Jordan I befriended playing with Brittany. For some reason I never talked much to Paul so I corrected that last night. I was surprised he remembered who I am. I sometimes don't remember who I am.

The next act up was Michael Davies. All I knew about him was that Jean Rohe mentioned singing with him, which is a good enough recommendation for me. the room was packed, another good recommendation. I wanted to stay but I do have grading so I was good and left. As I got to the door Tess walked in. You know when other musicians come to hear somebody they are good. But I stuck to my guns and left. plus it was a long day and I was tired. I saw pictures of him playing with Brittany and Peter. I bet Jordan played with him too. But I can't do everything. I'll check him out another time.

I wrote this while listening to you got this. Yes it is just as brilliant as when they did it live. I would send you a link to where you can buy it but they don't seem to be selling it online. I wrote them and asked. I'll link to it tomorrow if it's available.

OK now for breakfast then grading.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 05, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!