I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 04, 2014 - 5:38 p.m.

Women Can't What?

Keep the chronklepts away from me! They aren't letting me start to write. I had two interruptions just from the time I wrote "keep" till I started this sentence.

I left for therapy early yesterday because I wanted to go to the Union Square farmer's market first. I went and there were hardly any booths there, less than half the usual. I could not get potatoes the prime thing I was looking for. I did get a demi-baguette and even better fresh apple cider. That was great, so much better than what I get at Trader Joe's.

Therapy was interesting. I was n in the best emotional state that I've been in months. So we discussed why I was happy. She didn't try and tell me I was wrong either. I told her the fake pat myself on the back reason I could have given then the real reason.

I told her something that three friends had told me that clearly surprised her. I always like when I can see that my experience is clearly out of the norm. It was something along the lines of "you'll never succeed at ... " Something they clearly had no way of knowing and that they just volunteered. It bothers me thinking about that when I'm down but it just perplexes me when I'm up.

I wrote down the two things I wanted to write today. I wrote them on my "Diary Ideas" document. What I didn't do was put that in my dropbox so I could see it at school where I knew I'd be writing. Yes I'm an idiot. But an idiot who got lucky. I remember what they are.

I got a message from Nancy that SONiA had a show coming up at The People's Voice Cafe on May 10. First off I love that there are musicians that I don't get a mass mailing from but a personalized message. Nancy is part of SONiA's team and they are all my friends. But That's not my point. Neither is the calculator. I started thinking of people to ask to go with me and how I would sell SONiA. I've been a fan for 23 years and that sometimes makes it harder. In the first run through it came out;

SONiA is a sweet peace love and understanding filled hippie. You might think her songs would be gentle ones about rainbows and puppies. But you'd be wrong. SONiA's songs have balls!

Part of the writer in my loves that. It contrast the feminine expectation with a masculine description. But then came the objections. "The minor one was that it's a clich�." When an expression is overused it lacks impact. But more importantly is the essence of why I said I liked it. It uses as a frame of reference assumptions of masculine and feminine behavior. And of course there are differences. Men are far more likely to vote Republican. And some almost certainly have a biological basis as they are shared with chimpanzees our closest ancestor. But here's the thing, there's been a long history of assigning differences to biology that turned out to not be true. The judgment of centuries that women didn't have what it takes to be doctors and lawyers has been proved wrong with a vengeance. The majority of new doctors are women. There's been so much harm done by making those kinds of assumptions that I try to avoid things that promote the stereotypes. I don't always succeed. I just stopped calling conservative bridge players "Blue-haired old ladies." I would point out that they aren't all old or female that that many older women with blue hair aren't "blue haired old ladies" but I shouldn't have said it al all.

So how should I describe SONiA? She's a true folk/rocker owing as much to Elvis as Pete Seeger. Yes she's warm and fuzzy but her song have fire.

Writing about SONiA reminded me of a quote I read today in The Wise Man's Fear.. "I suppose I should come as no surprise that I have a particular fondness for women with music running through them." First off It is no surprise to My Gentle Readers that I share that sentiment. First time I met Cary Cooper I said to Meg, doesn't she look like a Gordon Friend? Meg replied, "Yes she's a woman holding a guitar." Now that wasn't what I meant. I was referring to Cary's funky earthiness. But I can't blame Meg for thinking it was just the music. But that's not my point either. I love the way Rothfuss put it, "music running through them." It doesn't run through every musician. For some music is something the love and they learned. But for some it's part of the essence of who they are.

I took a photo I liked yesterday. Here's poor Mahatma Gandhi cold in the snow. This is in Union Square.


There I didn't wait months to post it this time.

I am not feeling comfortable writing the second thing I planned so I'll save that for another time.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 04, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!