I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 20, 2010 - 3:14 p.m.

I Want to Rock and Roots All Night -- And Party Every Day

Whoops, I forgot to update. I'll do that now.

Last night I went to the WFUV volunteer party. My brain still can't around the fact that this is a social event where I'm one of the popular kids. I can't sit in the corner by myself because people will come over to talk to me.

I'm almost always the first one there or at least close to it. I have to prepare to hit bad traffic so if I don't I get there before it's supposed to start. Yesterday I left 20 minutes later than I wanted and hit construction on the Whitestone Bridge so I didn't get there till 15 minutes after it started. As I came in I saw George Evans and Sarah Waldrop and other WFUV staff and walked in with them. Oddly enough as I was with them security gave us a hard time but we got in. I said that people will be wondering where I am as I always am early. When we got there people told me, "We were wondering where you were." I'm good.

As a Nash I have to start by talking about the food. This is one of our most hallowed traditions. I would be excommunicated from the clan if I didn't. There was a buffet and the only main course that I liked was the Cajun chicken. Now of course I love Cajun chicken so that was great. I had to eschew the brownies with nuts for desert but filled up on soft chocolate chip cookies. I was a bit disappointed there was no soda. I had water to drink. OK Sue, am I still in the family?

I don't think I can make my usual list of people I know who was there as I know just about everyone even if I don't know their names. I'll try and name people I spent time talking to. Even that is hard and I'm going to miss people. I won't cheat and look at pictures. First FUV staff. George, Sarah, Cara, Cathy, Ginger, Linda, Kathy (or is that Cathy?) not the first Cathy who is definitely Cathy, Liz, Jeremy, Shari, John, Corny, and Ralph.

Now on to volunteers, Lori not LORi, Erika, Brian, Hannah, Howard, George, Ken, Joan, Bill, Susan, Suzanne, Gary P, Sylvia, Jesse, Kathleen, and Gary A.

Notice who is missing? My partner in crime, Jim. He had to work late.

The party was great and kudos to the staff for coming up with the games. There was WFUV Jeopardy, a word search, a jumble, and identifying the musicians from their photos. The one thing I'd really love of course is some live music.

I never sat down. There were too many people in too many places for me to stay in one place. Three or four years ago the last time it didn't rain the day of the party I was the only one to bring a camera. Now everyone seems to. Still people expect me to be the photographer and I failed. I hardly took any photos. I'll show you what I got.


Cathy, Ginger, and Shari


Lori and Brian


George


Joan and Ken on the left, Sylvia and John on the right


Kathleen and Linda on the left


I forgot to get a closeup of the board. This is just a blowup of the last pic.


Me Looking Spiffy


I'm still spiffy when you can see my feet.

I'm going to talk about something awkward. I needed to say that this is awkward or it would be awkwarder more awkward.

For the first time in my life I'm getting the feeling that women are finding me attractive. I've been playing around with my look in recent years, beard, no beard, scruffy, hair short, and pony tail. Have I hit on a winning combination? Is that it? Is it just all in my head? I think most likely it's a positive feedback loop. I'm looking marginally better. Some women reacted to that. I grew more confident; women reacted to that, and so on. Whatever it is I like it.

It isn't that women are throwing themselves at me. It's subtle. It's low level flirting and added attention. It's more physical affection. It's my not being afraid of me repulsing them.

I still for the most part let whoever I'm with take the lead when it comes to physical affection. I am affectionate but I'm comfortable with a broad range.

It's striking how much more physically affectionate men in general have become with each other in my life. When I was in college no man was going to hug another man. Now there are a lot of guys that I know are going to give me a bear hug and it is much more so with young men than people my age. I wonder if it's changing attitudes towards gay. With homophobia declining fear of people thinking you're gay has declined too.

Keeping to awkward; I got quite a few compliments on my attire. That's a long way from being a fashion nightmare. And I like that I did it my way. I don't know anyone else that is going to wear a white linen suit with a Paul Simon t-shirt and Tevas.

Back to being a Nash. I bought the suit last year for Lisa's wedding. Sue said, "You can wear it for more casual events too." That's about amortizing the cost of the suit. Our parents grew up in the depression. We don't abide wasting money. So Sue; happy about that too? I'm calling it my summer party outfit.

There was one unforeseen consequence of wearing combination. You can see the writing on the shirt right through the jacket.


Can you make out what it says?

When the party was over I took Erika home. She doesn't live that far from me. I pointed out that I didn't have to say, "We need to see each other more often" this time. I saw her a few weeks ago. That's how it should be.

I'm seeing other volunteers far more often than I used to. I love that. I have a gang.

You're never alone,
You're never disconnected!
You're home with your own:
When company's expected,
You're well protected!

We really need to dance more and get into rumbles. The problem is we can't get the orchestra to play when we cue them.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 20, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!