I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 19, 2010 - 12:38 p.m.

"I see you more than I see my mother."

Welcome to a sleep deprived edition of Wise Madness. It isn't like I have insomnia often, it's once every few months, but that's still far more often than I'm used to.

Remind me to shave after I post this. I've gone beyond scruffy and into growing a beard. It's not a style statement; I'm just lazy and put off shaving.

Last night was another big music night. I went to the Living Room and did something I should do more often. I stopped at Katz's Deli for dinner. They were out of knobblewurst so I got pastrami. That's no disaster, the only reason I was getting knobblewurst is because it's cheaper. Katz's Deli pastrami is by far the best I've ever tasted. It isn't stringy. It melts in your mouth. It's pastrami ice cream.

I didn't eat it there but took it out to eat at the Living Room. I wanted to get there early and hang out with my friends. When I got there Lori not LORi, and Richard and Viki were waiting in the bar. There are no real doors at the Living Room and I wanted to sit down and eat so I said, "Let's go in." and we did. I took my usual seat. Look for me in the front row extreme audience left. That's the best seat for taking photos.

So I didn't tell you who I was seeing. From 7-9 it was a co-bill; Anthony da Costa and John Elliott. Then at 9 Alfa with her band. I tried to cross-pollinate and get the Anthony and John fans to stay late and the Alfa fans to get there early. Maura Kennedy and I are pretty much the extent of their fan crossover.

When I walked in Anthony was sound checking and John was standing in the back. I didn't recognize him at first because he was wearing this hat.


From behind I thought he was Jonathan Byrd

When I saw it was John I said hello and got the warmest greeting and the yrbiggest hug. It's so nice when someone unequivocally lets you know he or she is happy to see you.

I asked John, "Why the hat?" and he said it was to cover a bad haircut. He eventually took it off. What do you think?


A little after we sat down Gene and Isabel came in and sat at the table right next to ours. They were out celebrating Isabel's birthday! I hope I made it unequivocal that I was happy to see them.

The Living Room has a one drink minimum. When the waitress came to me she didn't ask what I wanted. She said, "Diet coke?" I smiled and said yes. She then added. "I see you more than I see my mother."

Here are some more photos.


Anthony gets intense when he performs


The Hat was Abandoned


I love Anthony's smile here


I think Anthony stole this pedal.

I don't think I need to sell Anthony to My Gentle Readers but less of you are familiar with John. You shouldn't be. He's brilliant. His songs are not the usual confessional personal singer/songwriter material. He writes about the Lincoln Douglas Debates, a gay being blown up in test of a missile defense system, and the south's outlook on the Civil War. If you haven't seen him you need to.

Lori stayed with me to see Alfa. I appreciated that.

Alfa really packed the place. I was impressed. It was her first time playing The Living Room. She gave me a huge hug too. Have I mentioned that I like affirmation?

Alfa really liked Anthony and John. I love when my friends like my friends.

Alfa's music is quite different. It's pop with intelligence. I don't have to describe it. I took a video.

Many of her songs are on the piano but I didn't have a good angle for photographing that.

I of course took photos too.


I wonder why I find her cuter than Anthony and John


Her drummer is a cartoon character


My attempt at being artsy. The guitar is exactly horizontal.


The Band

There are too many photos for a slideshow. Here's a link to the album. Please take a look. There are some good ones.
John Elliott, Anthony da Costa, and Alfa @ the Living room

After the show Gene and Isabel came back. They went to Rockwood to see another band during Alfa's set. Their name is Barnaby Bright. I want to call them Rainbow Brite. When they returned I joined them for cupcakes to celebrate Isabel's birthday. The problem is the cupcake store was closed so we went for crepes. I was good because I had the pastrami ice cream I just had coffee. Then they drove me home. I got home just about when I would have if I hadn't joined them and took the subway straight home and of course got to enjoy their company.

Tonight I'm off to the WFUV volunteer party. That means you'll have another photo essay tomorrow. I'll try and get someone to take some of me. I intend on looking good. I hope my hair cooperates.

Did I tell you I got my schedule wrong when I listed it the other day. Red Molly is next weekend. On Saturday I'm going to see Carolann Solebello and Meg Braun with special guest Sharon Goldman. I don't have plans for Friday. I can do laundry! I can also write about the things I've been putting off then as I won't have some much narrative to cover.

Now I'm off to make breakfast then go shopping. As I need to go shopping I don't have that much choice as to what to make. It's going to be sausage and eggs.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 19, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!