I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 16, 2003 - 12:39 p.m.

These boots are made for walkin'

I didn�t have any adventures yesterday. The only time I left my house was to go on my first FRFF training walk. Since I can�t drive that meant walking a mile to get to the start of the path along Little Neck Bay. I walked four miles, two of them quickly, not bad for my first effort. When I want to walk fast it helps if I sing something with an appropriate tempo. I of course don�t know enough lyrics of any songs to last the half an hour it takes to walk two miles so I made my own up. I alternated a refrain with a verse about whatever I happened to see at that moment. When I sang it for Carey she said that all my songs are bad but catchy. I was going to give you the lyrics but now I�ve totally forgotten them. I�ll have to ask Carey if she knows them. Maybe it will come to me when I go out for today�s walk.

I finished The Wall last night. Now I�ll have to find something new to read. I really need to organize my books, Emma isn�t where it is supposed to be. I�ll see what I have lying around.

There are times when I don�t write things here because I�m afraid of sounding too earnest. It isn�t a matter of my worrying about what you�ll think of me but of defeating my own purpose. I know there are times when I read something that I agree with but will come away feeling turned off by what I read because of the tone. I know that I�m really prone to writing that way so I try to keep myself under control.

The last chapter of the Wall had so many quotes I could have used; Ideas that express things I believe strongly in. I�m not going to use any of those though. Instead for my last quote I�m going to use one that I suspect some people might have said about me.

Berson said that the one thing about Rachel he never could excuse was her inability to carry a tune.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 16, 2003
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!