I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 15, 2003 - 10:55 a.m.

After the Flood

Perhaps I�m not hard core, perhaps I�m just nuts. Yesterday I went to see Deirdre Flint in Woodbridge, New Jersey. The trains run only once an hour so I planned on arriving there just before the show instead of an hour early. This proved an unfortunate decision. A thunder storm hit during that hour and peaked when I started walking to the station, a bit over a mile away. There is a drainage problem in my neighborhood and as soon as I got off my block I hit the flooding. 56th Avenue was a river with the water reaching half way up my shin. Things got better after that but when I hit Northern Blvd the water was knee high. Not that let any of this stop me. I was just happy that I wore my sandals which could handle the water. I should have worn my water shoes.

I grabbed something to eat at Penn Station in the time between my trains and then hopped on to NJ Transit, which is always trouble. I got to Woodbridge a couple of minutes late which was OK. The problem was finding the venue. The website said it was one block west of the train station. The signs at the station said Main Street, left; Green Street, right; and Pearl Street straight ahead. I knew from the map on the Congregational Church Coffeehouse website that Pearl became Barron which is where the coffeehouse was. I walked one block west and it wasn�t Pearl. This is Jersey so it wasn�t that easy to figure out what street I was on. I had no idea what street the station was on, there were no signs. On this corner there was what looked like a fence post with the street names written barely legibly on it. I asked someone directions and they said go right a block then left. I tried that and saw it was wrong when I hit a street that was on the map. I had to go to the right. It ended up that the station was actually on Pearl Street. The sign saying to go straight ahead to Pearl meant ,stop you were on Pearl.

After all this I got to the venue a bit late but the show hadn�t started yet. I got a seat down front and the only problem was I didn�t have time to get coffee first.

Deirdre was great as always. I was happy to hear that she had lots of new material. She just came out with a new album and it sounds like she has material for another one. It was a very long set without an opening act and I talked with her during the intermission. I was happy to hear that she remembered me well enough to know that I was the one that sent her the email about Christine Lavin liking her.

The show was great but the timing wasn�t. It ended about fifteen minutes after the train back to New York left so I had a 45 minute wait. I hung around and talked to Deirdre and the guy who ran the coffeehouse for about 20 minutes then walked to the station. I sat there reading then heard the announcement that the next train was cancelled. I�ve ridden the LIRR thousands of times without having a train cancelled except during a huge snow storm. It had stopped raining before five and it was then 9:50. They didn�t seem to think it was necessary to give an explanation. I had to sit on the platform for an hour waiting for the next train. Something bad seems to happen every time I ride NJ Transit. I�ve talked to people who take it more often and they agree that it is terrible. The next train ended up being five minutes late. That meant I had to run to make my connecting train back home. I did make it though and ended up getting home at 12:45. That meant I had spent over six hours out to hear the concert. I am nuts.

It�s a beautiful day today and I have nothing planned. I�ll probably just take a walk and enjoy the outdoors.

I read more of Scientific American than of The Wall yesterday so I�ll quote that.

The living machines we call our bodies deteriorate because they were not designed for extended operation and because we now push them to function long past their warranty period.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 15, 2003
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!