I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 17, 2004 - 2:03 a.m.

A shameless promotion to boost my ratings

I�m getting into the swing of things at school. We�ll be getting into actual derivatives next week in my calculus class. We did word problems in the Fundamentals of Math class which meant problems with DVN, Bernie, and Paul and Storm. I really should have called them Skippy and Gregory. Oh well, next time.

After class I talked to Lori for a few minutes then proceeded to waste a few hours online. Not the best use of my time. Of course you could have saved me from that. I�ll ask again, Would anyone like a call from me either between 3:50 and 5:30 on Tuesdays and Thursdays or after 7:30 those nights? Free long distance can be your friend.

I�ve come down from the state of grace I was in after reading Walden. It really made me feel good. I had inner peace for a change. Now if that could only be bottled.

Now for a special t-shirt offer. At the Met game yesterday it was Smallville night. They gave away a Met/Smallville t-shirt. It has the Mets skyline Logo on the back and on the front it says,

Smallville

At Shea Stadium

Something is in the Air

I am not a Smallville fan so I don't think I'll wear it. Does anyone want it? If you do let me know. If more than one persons asks for it in the next 24 hours there will be a lottery to decide who gets it. After that it is first come first serve.

When I write here I find I'm trying to write in different voices. Recently I've been doing a great dear of my �Earnest� voice. Which I'm now thinking of as my Thoreau voice. I�m not saying that I write like Henry David, just that bears distant echoes of him.

I often write in my Isaac Asimov voice. When I start from a story in my life then move on to a lesson, that�s a big tip off. It is for sure when I call you �my gentle readers.�

Most often I�m trying to sound conversational, filled with parenthetical remarks and asides. I never know how that comes out. (Is it coming out good now?)

Closely related to that is my Uncle Floyd voice. You might think of it more as a Muppet Show voice. That�s when I tell jokes and half the humor is just that I have the nerve to tell something that incredibly corny. I think that�s my favorite. I know that if I was forced to not vary my style I�d try and make every entry as funny as possible. I might fail at being funny but I�ll always be myself. I think the absurdity of life is my most consistent world view.

This was another one of those entries that worked a lot better in my head when I first thought of it. Oh well. I�m not apologizing. When you write a daily column you can�t hit a homer every time. You are going to hit your share of weak grounders right back to the pitcher. At least I�m giving away a t-shirt in the process.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 17, 2004
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!