I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 16, 2004 - 2:39 a.m.

Take me out to yet another ballgame?

Once again it is way too late when I start to write this. I guess I should be happy that not much worth writing about happened. Did anything happen today? Part of the problem is that I didn�t get to sleep till after 4 AM last night and didn�t wake up till a quarter till noon. I did get to watch a part of one of a neglected fantasy classic of the 80s, Krull. Has anyone here seen it? If not then you make an effort to see it now. At the time I thought that Lysette Anthony made the perfect fairytale princess. She was breathtakingly beautiful. I�m glad to see that I still think that. When I saw the The Princess Bride I felt that should would have been a better Buttercup. Unfortunately she had very few other roles. I guess being involved in the film makes you under-appreciated, though it didn�t seem to hurt Liam Neeson�s career. He had a small role. The film works as an action film, it makes you think, and has a distinctive look. You really can�t ask for more.

Tonight� I went to my fourth Met game this week. Once again the Mets lost, this time 2-0 to the Braves. I love a pitcher�s duel so I enjoyed the game. Al Leiter had 11 strikeouts in seven innings. The Mets rarely have games like that anymore. I miss them.

The game was delayed twice. There was an hour long rain delay then an umpire got sick. We had no idea what happened, they never explained on the PA. I just know the umps left the field then only three returned. When I got home I heard what happened. The Mets don�t do a good job at informing their fans. Actually they don�t do a good job at anything.

Alan and I have totally different ideas about where to sit at a game. When we had first row seats in the upper deck he wanted to move way up to near the top. Today when it rained his first instinct was to move to the top again but I told him that I tried it and the wind was blowing so all the seats were wet. We moved down to the mezzanine. Once there he wanted to move to a back row even though that means you can�t follow a fly ball. We compromised and sat in the middle. I have no idea where his taste in seats comes from. He admits that you see better closer to the field.

I keep wanting to update my Cast list and every night it is too late for me to do so. Maybe I�ll do it from school tomorrow and tell you about it when I update tomorrow night. I�ll write what was going to be tonight�s topic then too. Wow after getting all philosophical the last few days are you relieved that I�m just writing about my day?

OK I just remembered something that happened today that I want to write about and that is philosophical. Sorry.

Tonight was the is the first night of Rosh Hashannah, the Jewish New Year. That really doesn�t mean much to me or to Alan, as you might guess as we were at the game not at services. Next week is Yom Kippur, the holiest day in the Jewish Year. There is a game on Kol Nidre (sp?), the night before, that Alan would like to go to but probably won�t, to keep the peace in his family. He is going to work on the Yom Kippur and won�t fast. He said how he couldn�t understand people that will go to great lengths to follow the religious laws and won�t even brush their teeth when fasting. �What do they think will happen if they do? Will they get punished?� he said. I responded �What do you think will happen if you miss a Jet home game?� Remember that he has not missed one since September 15th 1979. Yes he knows the exact date of the last game he missed. I just realized that was exactly 25 years ago (well it was before midnight) I should have pointed it out during the game. OK now I�ve lost my focus, back to the philosophy. It just shows how blind people can be about their own motivations. He couldn�t understand someone else following a ritual so minutely yet he has felt compelled to see every Jet game even when there were funerals and weddings on the same day. He doesn�t think he�ll go to hell if he misses a game but it is important to him to keep the streak alive. It is part of defining who he is. The same as religion is to many others.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 16, 2004
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!