I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 02, 2011 - 10:11 a.m.

The Sloan Ranger

To help fight the Chronoklepts I am going to write my entry before I even download the photos and videos I took last night. They will have to wait. I have too much to do. You will see them but probably not till after this weekend.

I didn't do a very good job of fighting the Chronoklepts yesterday. I didn't clean my apartment and LORi is coming tomorrow. I did manage to do my laundry. Today I have to do some shopping to make my Chocolate Chip French Toast Bread Pudding for the weekend. Does anyone remember the new name I came up for it? It was good. I want to start using it. Was it a ChocoLavinator? That's it! I remembered! Go me! See I'm not totally pathetic. I have a shred of dignity.

I even got some grading done yesterday. Oddly enough even though the class is doing far better than they did the first time I tested them on the material I'm not happy about it. It's clear they still don't understand the material and if I hadn't just asked the same questions with different numbers they'd be lost.

Last night was the first Thursday of the month which means you should know where to find me, the Christopher Street Coffee House. I'm on the board and the artist liason so I will always be there even when it means missing two "can't miss show;" Aoife O'Donovan's last performance with Childsplay and a Madison Violet house concert. Fortunately for me we had a great show too, Sloan Wainwright. I try to get there before the artist but don't always quite succeed. Yesterday as I approached the church Sloan walked by me in the opposite direction. She and her band had just dropped off their stuff and were off in search of food. I said hi and introduced myself and then grabbed some pizza for my dinner.

I've come to enjoy my time there with no one else around but Tim, the deacon and or Mark the pastor. Yesterday I hung out with Tim. I get to hang out with new friends and ones from totally different backgrounds than my others and get to know them.

I also did some more grading when Tim was busy getting the place physically ready. See how good I am? I'm not totally helpless before the power of the Chronoklepts. When I walked in Tim told me that they had to wait for the djembe player, I asked, "Cadence?" He said, "I think it's Cady." It was Cadence! I was hoping for she'd be there. Carey and I befriended her at the first Susquehanna Music and Arts Festival almost 10 years ago. I made more musician friends there than anyplace. Since she became a mother and became a teacher I have not seen her often enough. I knew there was a good chance she'd be there but I deliberately didn't ask her as I'd be disappointed if she said she wasn't going to be there and I knew I'd be extra happy if she showed up and I didn't know about it before. I was right, She walked in the door and I was happy.

When the opener showed up I introduced myself to her and told her that if she needed anything to ask me. It was Carolann Solebello who of course is also on the board of the Coffee House and she and Meg Braun are the reason I'm on it. She knows the place much better than I do. I had to say it though; it struck me as funny. I guess you had to be there. Nah, you just have to have my warped sense of humor.

We finished sound check early, no racing to get it done before the doors opened even though Sloan's band didn't have the simplest set up. That was good, things were nice and relaxed. The only thing Sloan needed from me was a music stand. Even for that I had to get Tim who is the only one with the key to the room where we keep them.

We had a bigger audience than the last few months which was nice. It should be even bigger of course. I'm expecting you to be there next month for the tribute to Joni Mitchell's album Blue by the Chicks with Dip, Carolann, Meg, and friends. Two of them showed up last night; Sharon Goldman and Allison Scola. The chicks think that they are a songwriters group. It's actually the "lets be friends with Gordon club." I was friends with some independently and others I became friends though meeting them through the group. I pretty much love everyone in it.

I got some more hangout time with Mark and Felix before the show. I hadn't seen them since Sunday. Have you noticed I always write more about who I talk to than the music?

I think I'm pretty much out of things to say about Carolann's. How many different ways can I say she's great? I videoed a song that I hadn't before but of course it isn't online yet so you'll just have to take my word for it.

I don't see Sloan nearly as often. It's a while now, maybe a few years. This was one of her holiday shows, those are always special. Sloan's voice and performance style are unique. I can think of no frame of reference to compare her too. Music people, what's her voice type? Contralto? A low mezzo? Is there a special name for it? It's resonant and dramatic as is her delivery. I could so see her doing grand opera. Everything about her performance is grand. She has a tight band, There's Doug on bass and Cadence on drums and harmony vocals and and and, OK I forgot the name of her guitar player. Yes I can look it up but that would be getting up and I'm not going to do that. I'm trying to get this finished early.

How come no two members of the Wainwright clan sound like they are related to each other? Rufus might be the closest to Sloan. Her son Sam McTavey joined her and did a song of his own. He also has his own sound though he's closer to Loudon than anyone else.

After the show I hung out and sold merch and then waited for Meg and Carolann. We always walk to the subway together. Of course they take it in the opposite direction.

I got home a little after 11 and should have gotten to bed early but didn't. Then I woke up in the middle of the night and couldn't get back to sleep. I'm going to be very tired later today. This is where the procrastination kills me. If I had spent the last week cleaning up the apartment like I should have I would just have to shop and make my ChocoLavinator today. I'm not going to beat myself over it. That just makes things worse.

Now it's time for breakfast. It's an omelet day. I haven't had one in a while. I might experiment a bit with it. Will garlic work with ham and pepper jack cheese? You know it will.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 02, 2011
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!