I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 03, 2011 - 9:54 a.m.

The Little Picture

I still have to clean my apartment, LORi is coming today. I must fight off the Chronokelpts!

So what did I manage to do yesterday? Tech math class went pretty well. I covered the material I needed to and thought I had an extra good report with the class after a rocky start. The first homework problems were review, material covered on the first test and they were clueless. They couldn't answer "what color was George Washington's white horse" type questions. At first I was nonplussed and showed it. That's not good. Yes it's hard when you ask, "What color was George Washington's white horse" and get blank stares or answers like "it has four legs" but I have to find ways to handle it constructively. After a few deep breaths I did and I think things went well. Part of the problem is that they don't want to think about things. They don't construct models in their heads of what's going on. What they try to do is memorize answers to specific questions, I'm not sure they are aware that there is a big picture let alone be able to see it. The question is "are they capable of it?" Is this a mathematical talent that most people don't have or is it just lack of training? I know I was never trained in it but it feels way too easy to be beyond people's abilities. We aren't talking advanced things here but normal high school math. This is the kind of thing I'd love to be studied but it would be difficult to do.

After school I stopped at the Holiday Market again. I wanted a belt for myself, nobody was selling them. I looked at gloves, they cost a fortune. I ended up getting a bratwurst which was amazing. They have too much good food there this year. I did manage to get Lori's Festivus present. I'm gambling that she won't have time to read this before she leaves so it's safe to say that. I won't say what it is, just in case I'm wrong.

I resisted getting one of the artisan pretzels today but I almost bought one on the street before school. You have to know what you are doing when buying New York street cart food. A pretzel in front of the Time Warner building is $3. If you walk a block north to where my school is it's only $2. Hot dogs and everything else are priced the same way. If I walk to Carnegie Hall it's only $1 and that's the best quality of the lot. I got one on the way home.

For dinner last night I had a ham steak. I used to make a glaze for it which wasn't hard but made cleanup something of a mess. I finally realized that it hardly effects the flavor and now just put the ham on the no stick skillet and it's great. I had a baked plantain with it. That is also no work, you just put a slit in the skin, wrap it in foil, and put it in the oven for 40 minutes. I pressed some garlic and put that on the outside with butter and salt and had an extra delicious dinner with virtually no preparation and not much of a cleanup. I just have to wipe down the skillet. That's a great ratio of eating pleasure to work.

Becca wrote me yesterday to tell me that ilyAIMY quoted me in their newsletter. My first reaction was "Do I get their newsletter?" I wasn't sure. I am friends with them on Facebook and don't know what I find out by email or there or postings other places; I know I didn't see the quote. I signed up for the email list and saw that I was already subscribed. I then found the email. I was bad and hadn't gotten to that part. They were talking about playing with Carbon Leaf on New Year' Eve and as I knew I wouldn't be there I skipped that part. They quoted Wise Madness from my first time seeing Carbon Leaf; Counting the Cars on the Connecticut Turnpike. You might want to read that entire entry. I had adventures, with friends, conflict, physical conflict, with a rude Canadian, and a nightmare trip home from New Haven.

Yesterday was my sister Alison's birthday. She loves frogs so I left a video of a frog singing Happy Birthday on her Facebook page. I called her and sang it myself on her voicemail. She's 65 but I still had to add "You look like a monkey and you smell like one too." We never grow up. She called me back last night and talked for an hour. We really have to see each other more. She only lives a couple of hours away.

Before I went to bed I prepared the ChocoLavinator for the weekend; that's the new name for my chocolate chip French toast bread pudding. I made two batches, one for today and the other for tomorrow. I really need a bigger bowl for mixing that it involves 13 eggs and five cups of milk. I am proud that I spilled so little of it. I didn't do any experiments on it. I almost bought combination chocolate and peanut butter chips but it was milk chocolate and I wanted semi-sweet or dark. I considered added bacon but didn't. I'm always open to new ideas. If you've had it and come up with one let me know.

I figured that I'd be using one of the entry ideas from my bin today but it seems like I filled this entry without one. How did that happen? I like my thematic entries best whether they be philosophical or humorous. I know many of you prefer when I write about music. I have been told though that some like when I just give the little details of my daily life like I did today. There's nothing wrong with writing about that. It is part of who I am. I'm not always looking at the big picture, sometimes I have to focus on the details or I'll never figure out where things fit in.

Now I have tons of cleaning to do so I better get started, � with breakfast. Those Chronklepts are a mighty.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 03, 2011
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!