I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2003-01-09 - 10:58 a.m.

About About Schmidt

I did something different from my usual routine yesterday, I saw About Schmidt with my mother, sister, and nephew. If I were choosing a film that would not have been my choice. It was not my kind of film. It didn�t seem to go anywhere. I think it could have perhaps worked as a short film, the ending was perhaps predictable but cute. I don�t think I needed two hours to find out that he finds his life empty and meaningless. You knew that in the first minute.

After the film we went to a Korean restaurant that Alison had driven by and wanted to check out. We were the only Occidentals in the place. It was a style we were totally unfamiliar with. There are grills built into the table. They brought us the food raw and we didn�t know if we were supposed to cook it ourselves. Max and I were playing it as a Seinfeld episode. It would have worked great. I was George and he was Seinfeld; We both were Kramer. Alison did a bit of Elaine. The waiter saw we were having problems and started cooking the food then told us that we were supposed to cook it ourselves. They cooked the appetizers, we just grilled the meat. That was mainly my job and I am the family barbeque chef. It seems to me this is a lawsuit waiting to happen. Someone could undercook their meat and get sick. The meat was very good, no one was too thrilled with the rest of the meal though.

Max and I continued our debate on whose mother is more annoying. For the day I think it came out about even.

I talked to Carey and Leah on the phone yesterday which is always a good thing. I wish I could see them more often. I haven�t spoken to Stacey in days. She�s having a rough time, send some hugs her way. Leah and Carey could use some too.

I�m feeling apprehensive today and I don�t know why. I�m glad I�m seeing the Kennedys tonight, they always make me feel good. I just have to figure out how to get to where they are playing. It�s deep in the heart of Hoboken. I don�t know if I can walk there from the Path Station. I�d rather not drive.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2003-01-09
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!