I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 30, 2014 - 1:36 p.m.

Idiot Savant or just Idiot?

Let's start off right where yesterday's blog finished. I was off to make matzoh brei. I got the the kitchen, brought out the matzoh and made � an omelet. Why? Come on this is too easy. Because I'm an idiot. You start making them the same way and I just got into omelet mode. As soon as I cracked the egg in the mixing bowl I added two more and was off to the races. I only use one egg when making matzoh brei. It really is hard not having a brain. But I do make a perfect omelet.

Now we'll jump to the evening when Dan and I went to see Jean Rohe at the Cornelia Street Caf�. I really should make a database of all my concerts so I can see things like how often I've seen Jean this year. I know this is my second time seeing her there with Dan the last month or so, maybe two months. See that's why I need a database. My memory is not to be trusted. And why don't make a data model. You know a data bass. How in the world am I not a trillionaire?

Have you ever noticed how that I'm convinced I'm both an idiot and a genius? I'm complicated.

When you go to Cornelia street there is a $10 minimum. In the interest of frugality what I did was have hot dogs at home and fries and a diet coke there. That costs exactly $10. Am I good or what? Part of being a genius.

Jean did a few songs that she doesn't often do because of the date. First she did Joni Mitchell's Urge for Going. Then she did her own Irises which takes place the night we set the clocks back. My brilliant idea is that she should do a concert window this weekend where she performs just that song. It starts at Sunday at 2:00 AM and end Sunday at 1:10 AM. The heads of everyone in the world will explode. Yes sit back and appreciate my genius. Or is this me being an idiot. I can never quite tell.

Jean was joined by Benjamin Scheuer. Dan had met him some time ago at a songwriters' gathering. He said he was good but my first reaction when artists are joined by friends is trepidation. We don't choose friends based on talent. What if he sucked? Or more likely was mediocre.

Pleased to tell you that he rocked the Casbah. I should have had more faith. Go to his website and you can hear some songs there. I just listened to all of them. That's proof I think he's good.

After the show Dan and I walked to the subway together but took different trains. I had amazing timing. The came as soon as we got on the platform then the pulled in as I reached that platform. I was home in no time. That's nice.

I'm still talking so much about l'affaire Jian. Here are the sordid details, Jian Ghomeshi: 8 women accuse former CBC host of violence, sexual abuse or harassment. It is strange as this is someone I actually know. But to be honest the effect of all this on me is positive as I'm talking more to people I enjoy talking to from the Fr�head days. Sure there are people I don't like too. but guess what, I'm not talking to them.

I'm not feeling inspired to write today so I won't. I'll make matzoh brei. I'll remember to make it today. Then I'll go off and take care of some things and come back tomorrow and be brilliant. Or maybe I'll have an idiot story. Probably both.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 30, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!