I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 09, 2017 - 11:34 a.m.

What Do I Love More Than What Do You Love More Than Love

I am no longer on the mend, I'm healed. There is no tenderness left in my abdomen and I haven't had a twinge and I'm starving. All systems are go. Good thing as I'm going out the next seven days in row to many things I'm greatly looking forward to. Tonight it's John Platt's On Your Radar. It's nice to feel like myself.

There are a host of items in my diary ideas file but most of them are rants. I don't want to rant. I don't want to work myself up to a rant. It's a beautiful day. The Mets won last night on a walk-off hit by Neil Walker. I watched an episode of Phineas and Ferb that I had never seen. I'm healthy. I want to write about something that brings me joy. The problem is that bad things make more interesting stories. I'm listening to Folk Alley, something beautiful came on. Before I realized who, it was I knew I loved it. It was Go Back by Darlingside. I'd write about how music has the magic to make you feel better but I've done that so many times. I could write about baseball but I've been there and done that. The view from my window is gorgeous and I appreciate it every single day. I'll show you.

I considered making a list of things I love but I've done that already. I could just say that Dar said what I want to say.

If you gave me a Sophie's Choice and made me choose my favorite Dar song that's the one I'd pick. I've never heard anyone else choose it. She doesn't play it that often in concert. I couldn't even find a live video her performing it. That doesn't stop the song from speaking to me. I loved it from the first time I heard it at the Green World release show at the late lamented Bottom Line. Would any of My Gentle Readers put it in their top 5 Dar Songs?

One of the things I love more than love is people that love things more than love. Another is constructing sentences like that. It's great to have a passion. I love talking to people that have passions. I want to hear about what gets other people excited. I'll ask something else of My Gentle Readers; what do you love more than love?

I just remembered that I never wrote the poem I was planning. I'll try to do that on the subway today. I considered writing it write now and posting it here but as I said before, I'm starving and I don't want to rush it. I'm going to make breakfast. I tried something sort of new yesterday. I made matzoh brei topped with a slice of mortadella. It was almost exactly the same time. They were fated to be eaten together. It was delicious. Tomorrow I'm writing about On Your Radar. The next day I just have a psychiatrist appointment on my calendar so I'll try to have the poem ready for Thursday.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 09, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!