I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 04, 2006 - 11:41 a.m.

Duck Soup

My mother slept the entire time I as there yesterday but she is getting out of the hospital today or tomorrow. She will go into a nursing home for a while, we don't know how long. She has to stay on intravenous antibiotics another five days or so; so they are putting in a pic line. That is what I had. It is a line that they keep in you that goes deep into your circulatory system. To give the antibiotic they just screw in a tube instead of having to use needle in a surface vein.

Last night I went to the Long Island Ducks game. They are an independent minor league baseball team in the Atlantic League. They played the Road Warriors, who as their name indicates don't have a home. They only play road games. As you can tell this was going to be a fun and neuro evening.

This was all Larry's idea. He works for the NY State Department of Health and they have an office across the street from the park. He had to be there yesterday and wanted to go to the game. I jumped at the chance. I drove out there, met him in the parking lot and we went in. Everything was so delightfully cheesy.

On the way in we noticed a lot of the kids had these duck calls that looked like duck bills. I'm four years old so I had to get one too.

Larry is far to mature for such things.

Did going to the game give me a swelled head?

We had great seats, field level boxes in the third row a bit into the outfield. It was a great place to watch the game from. Most of my action shots didn't come out but this one is nice.

This is what the park looks like.

The rest of the pics can be found here.

It was just a really fun night. They do things like play the Super Chicken theme song followed by duck quacks. Duck quacks follow most of the crowd rallying attempts. We of course played along on our duck calls.

It is a bit fuzzy but here is Quackerjack the team mascot.

I love minor league baseball. We had tons of fun.

Oh yes, the Ducks beat the Warriors 12-4.

There are a few more photos from the Museum of Natural history I want to show you. They get very creative ways of exhibiting some of the fossils. They suspend fossils of flying creatures like pterodactyl from the ceiling.

Swimming creatures too like this Plesiosaur.

In the Hall of Pacific Peoples they have a display case of masks from New Ireland. If it is New Ireland does that make the cute redhead second from the left New Carey?

They have a display in the South American Hall on llamas.

If you really want to learn about llamas you need to hear The Llama song. Actually you all need to hear the llama song. Don't argue, just follow the link and listen to it and watch the video.

The lizards in the special Snakes and Lizards Exhibition were having an orgy. They didn't invite me.

The museum has many murals. This is in the Hall of Northwest Indians. Make sure to read the title and look at it closely.

The paintings I really love are the ones by Charles Knight, the greatest painter of prehistoric life. I took a photograph of every painting of his I saw. The best one didn't come out but they are all good. Here is one of them.

I think that's it for my museum pics. Go look at all of them.

I'm off to the hospital now and then to the Met game tonight.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 04, 2006
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!