I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-12-12 - 8:07 a.m.

Hair: not the musical

Yahoo, I just bought my tickets to see The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring! I didn't just get tickets to see it. I'm seeing the first screening of it at 12:01 AM on December 19th with Ian McKellen, Gandalf himself, as a guest speaker. I must have been fated to buy the ticket when I did. WQXR is playing a piece by Salieri. I saw McKellen play him in Amadeus on Broadway.To make it even better it is being screened at the best theatre in New York, the IMAX at the Sony Lincoln Square Theatre. The only downside is that I was planning on seeing the movie with Lisa and I don't think she'll go for it. I'll have to see it again with her. I bought two tickets but I'm sure I'll find someone who will want to go with me. If I can't I'll ask on my LOTR yahoo group. If you read this and are interested let me know. As you might have guessed I'm a Lord of the Rings enthusiast. Just take a look at the background of this page. I first read it when I was about 12 and when I was younger, had more time and owned less books I'd read it multiple times every year. Now it's down to once every year or two. I think I must have read it 40 or 50 times in my life. I have been looking forward to the film since I heard that Peter Jackson was directing it. I think he has the right touch for it. From what I've seen in the previews the look of the film is perfect. Yes they've changed it. They have eliminated my favourite character Tom Bombadil. That is a necessity though. If I were directing it I'd eliminate him too. There are about a 1000 pages that they have to turn into three films, about 9 hours total running time. There is no way to include everything. I haven't done anything like this for a movie since the first Star Trek movie came out, I got tickets months in advance for that. Of course I tried to see the animated LOTR the day it was released but it was sold out. They didn't have an advanced sale and I couldn't get there early because I had a class. I saw Dawn of the Dead on a midnight show the day it was released, that was great. I still remember the couple that was in front of Bad Carey and myself on the line. The poor guy, he went to the show because his girlfriend wanted to see the film and she ended up talking to us, who were big George Romero fans, and ignoring him.

Now lets see if I can remember any of the things that I had planned on writing about before I came online. Reading about the offer to see LOTR drove most if it out of my mind. I think I'll put in a little ad for the company that sent me the email and let me buy the tickets in advance. It is Fandango.com. They are also the company I got my Harry Potter tickets from. They have a mailing list that it is worth being on.

Let's try again to write about something else. I found out today that for the first time my school, The New York Institute of Technology is posting the grades online. I was going to do that for my students, now I won't have to.

After school I made my usual visit to the hospital. My father looked much better, especially considering that he had surgery yesterday. It looks like he'll go into rehab instead of coming straight home from the hospital. I think that is really for the best.

My good luck string for the Knicks ended tonight. They blew a three-point lead with 6 seconds to go and lost in overtime tonight. It was an exciting game of course but very disappointing.

I had a lot of things I wanted to write about tonight, I think I'll save most of them for another day. I have a busy schedule the rest of this week but after that I'm sure I'll have some days that I won't have much to write about. I will talk about one thing that I planned on, hair.

Yes you read that right, I said hair. Years ago Lauren was surprised when I told her that hair was one of the things that I really pay attention to on a woman; That I can find hair sexy. It isn't a fetish or anything but I appreciate good hair. Lauren's was great by the way, long, thick, and shiny. The friend I have with the best hair now is Marti check out her pic. As you might have guessed from previous entries I like red hair. "Said James, 'In my opinion, there's nothing in this world beats a '52 Vincent and a redheaded girl.'" I don't just like red hair though, as long as it is long, luxurious and has good color I'll like it. I loved Emmylou's near white hair till she cut it. Right now the best hair in music is Debi Smith's. It is incredibly long and a beautiful dark brown. I couldn't find a photo of her to link to though.

I have a couple of prejudices about hair. The first is about blonde hair. I have nothing against blondes, I don't think they are stupid, vain, or any of the other negative traits often attributed to them. I just don't like the way that society considers blonde hair superior to all other colours. I really feel it is a form of racism. It is the idea that the Nordic type is superiour to all others. People who have beautiful hair will dye theirs a hideous shade of blonde. My friend's sister had really nice black hair, she dyed it this awful dirty blonde that looked terrible. Why? Because society said it was better. Even Britney Spears who you would think wouldn't need to worry about her hair did it. She has great natural red hair; you haven't seen it in years though.

My other prejudice as you might guess is against dyed hair. Now I admit sometimes it looks good. Dar's hair looks great no matter what her color du jour is. I just don't like the idea of it though. I really dislike it when people dye their hair a color that is totally unsuited to their natural coloring. Most dyed redheads look exactly like that, dyed redheads, not close to the real thing. Strangely enough I sometimes like a bleached blonde. It is so phony looking that it doesn't have the dishonest feel of most dye jobs. Nobody in his or her right mind would think it natural. When you tell everyone you are lying, it ceases to be lying.

Now with all the things that I wanted to write about why did I write about hair? Maybe it's because I keep losing mine. Or maybe it's because I told a certain super cute Redhead that I would.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-12-12
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!