I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 06, 2009 - 5:51 p.m.

I'd come up with a title if I had a brain

It's 5:25 PM on Thursday and I'm updating. Why is that odd? Because I said that I'd be at the WFUV volunteer party now. Why aren't I there? Because the party is next week. Good thing I wrote to John Platt and said, "Aren't I going to see you tonight at the party?" He set me straight. I really isn't easy not having a brain. I wonder what it's like to have one. Is it as wonderful as I imagine? Can people really keep a thought in their head for more than 5 minutes at a time? Can they know what their schedule is for tomorrow? I'm sorry but I can't believe that anyone can know what they are doing the day after tomorrow. People are just making fun of me when they say they can do that; right? It must be so nice to remember things like people's names and if you like them or not. To not panic every five minutes because you can't find the thing you put down four minutes ago. To walk into a room and know why you walked in there. To not have to go back in the house 5 times every time you leave because you keep forgetting things, and then forget the thing you went back for. I hope you wake up every day and say, I�m grateful that I have a brain.

I had another idiot story to tell you. I forgot what it was.

Today I'm doing Falcon Ridge business. I emailed out my thank yous to all the artist that performed. Why didn't I remember that it takes hours? It wouldn't if I had a decent computer. I edited the photos and decided which to post on line. I actually uploaded all of them in one album. My plan was to them move them to the appropriate ones. The flaw in that plan is that the way the Picasa website works that has to be done one photo at a time and I have to reload the page I uploaded to after each move. So I deleted the entire album and I'm now uploading them an album at a time. For the first time I've devoted an album to things that happened off the stages. I took more pictures of the Falcon Ridge street life than ever before. I always say that I'm going to do that and I actually did.

I got a call today from the Transit Authority. They are investigating the incident with the bigoted bus driver. It seems that this wasn't a case of a guy having a bad day and reacting to it poorly. He has a history of this kind of thing. As the gentleman I spoke to said; "He isn't cut out for this kind of work." This was the last straw. Once I told him that I would be willing to testify they decided to go to the wall with him. I am so pleased to find that they are as outraged as I am.

I wish there was a way the driver could learn from this but it isn't likely. I'm sure the way that he'll tell the story is that a white guy doesn't stand a chance against the chinks and kikes and niggers who ganged up on him. Should the racist terms be capitalized? If I said, Chinese, Jews, and Blacks, I would. It didn't look right when I wrote it that way so I got rid of the capitals. Is that the right "capital?" I never learned that one. I do know that the principal of your school is your pal.

It is much cooler today so I decided to take a hot bath to loosen up my rehabbing left elbow. That was a great idea till when I tried to sit down in the bath all my weight ended up on left arm. I was lucky it didn't even hurt too much. I could have reopened the fracture. I am being careful and wearing the elbow brace. I think that's wise for now.

I know I promised to write about ideas today but you are going to have to settle for the paragraph I wrote about how I think the bus driver will take it. That is actually quite a bit to think about.

One more thing to think about. Today is the 65th anniversary of the dropping of the first atomic bomb on Hiroshima. Sunday will be the anniversary of the one on Nagasaki. I am always aware of those dates, August 6 and 9.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 06, 2009
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!