I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 05, 2009 - 10:48 p.m.

How To Be Cool

Look, I'm updating two days in a row! I am all better now. Yesterday I had intermittent pain as food when through the choke point in my intestine, today there is no choke point. That means I've been ravenously hungry today. I've been doing a good job of not gorging myself. I want to keep the weight off and as I'm back on the prednisone I'll have to work extra hard if I want to continue to be able to fit into my linen pants. Today I tipped the scales at a new low, 170.5 lbs. I can't remember the last time I was that light.

I had something brilliant and insightful to say about racism as a coda to my adventure with the bigoted bus driver but you know what happened. I forgot it. It really is hard not having a brain. I don't know how I survive. Well duh, I don't have a brain of course I don't know things. If I had a brain I'd have realized that. If I had a brain I wouldn't be writing about not having a brain. I'm a walking paradox. I'm lying. Norman coordinate.

Today I spent as a healthy person. I went to the Met game without a sling on my arm. It was camp day so the game started early, 12:10 PM. Last night the Mets lots a heartbreaker. Today they had a rookie, Jonathon Niese, who was only in the majors because other pitchers are injured pitching. He popped his hamstring in the second inning. He was replaced by Nelson Figueroa, a marginal major leaguer who is only on the team because of injuries. He started on Monday. Why was he available? He only pitched 1 2/3 innings, he gave up 6 runs. Things were not looking good for the Mets. So what happened? He pitched 4 1/3 innings of shutout ball. He was relieved by Bobby Parnell who pitched 3 shutout innings. Niese didn't give up a run before he got hurt so the Met's pitched a combined shutout and won 7-0. After the game I took the bus too and from the game without incident. When I got home I remembered to move my car across the street so it would be legal tomorrow. The day went well. The only bad thing is that my left elbow locked after the game. I couldn't straighten my arm. I thought I'd have to take a hot bath to loosen it up but when I got off the bus I found the key to the lock, twisting my arm into just the right position and it straightened right up. That kind of thing might happen for a while. I'm working on using the arm's complete range of movements.

I made hot dogs for dinner and treated by making Freedom French Fries. I don't like making them too often but I thought my tummy deserved a treat. On Tuesday I had to wait till 11:30 to eat dinner. Today I ate it at 8:15. I could have had it earlier.

I have my usual insane plans coming up. Tomorrow I�m going to the WFUV volunteer party at Fordham in the Bronx from 5 till 8 then driving down to the Lower East Side to see Pat Wictor do Abbie Gardner's Slide Sessions at 9:30. I'll have trouble parking when I get home but I'll find a spot. On Friday night I�m heading down to the Philly area to see Paul and Storm and the Arrogant Worms at Milkboy. I'm merching for P&S. The show starts at 9:30. I'm getting home very late.

The summer has finally started to heat up. Today's high was 87�F and it was very humid. I'm surviving without air conditioning. I wish I had it and will get it soon but for now I'm keeping my small carbon footprint. Since I moved here I'm used so much less energy. I hardly drive and I don't use AC. My cooling system would make my father happy. He always loved exhaust fans and cross ventilation. That's what I use. I have the fan in my bedroom. The room with the fan is not the room that is cooled off. It is the room with the open window where the cooler outside air comes in. When I'm in the living room, where I spend my days, I keep the window without the fan in my bedroom cold. That means the only place for the air to come in is the windows right by my computer and my easy chair, the two places I spend my time. The breeze blows right where I am. The ceiling fan is a big help. When I go to bed I open the bedroom window and close the door. Now the breeze blows right over my bed, once more assisted by the ceiling fan. That and dressing intelligently keep things bearable. Lots of iced coffee helps.

I have to get back to editing photos so I'll sign off till tomorrow. I'll have to update in the afternoon as I won't have time when I get home. That means I'll have done nothing to write about. I'll have to write about ideas. You've been warned.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 05, 2009
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!