I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 03, 2018 - 11:29 a.m.

People Who Write Personal Blogs Don't Worry About Privacy

I had a ticket to last night's Met game; it was postponed because of "cold and wetness." It wasn't that cold by game time. It was cool but pleasant. The problem is that even though it was in the mid-40s the ground was still covered with snow. That would make playing baseball difficult. What did I do instead? I went to Stop & Shop! I'm a Wildman. I bought matzoh. When you buy it after the Seders it's $3 for 5 lbs. I still have a few sheets from last year. What does stale matzoh taste like? The same as fresh matzoh. I eat matzoh brei all year round and it's my emergency vehicle for peanut butter. It is always in the house.

The Mets were cold and wetted out but the Nashional Batnoses, my fantasy baseball team played. We are now in first place! That pretty much means nothing but it's unusual. I almost always start the season in last as I ignore the results of the first week when I bid. The difference is that we usual hold the draft a week into the season, this year no MLB team had played more than two games before the draft. I have what might be an idiot story, but I suspect is a sleep deprivation party. I bid based on projected stats. Tyler Kinley had sensational numbers. I had never even heard of him. Instead of finding what was wrong I targeted him with my last draft pick. I got him for 10¢, nobody else was interested. After a night's sleep I knew that it couldn't be true. The problem was the didn't even warrant a projection and the excel lookup function gave the numbers of the best reliever in the league, Greg Kimbrel, the closest name alphabetically. I'm an idiot, but not that kind of idiot. Awake I would have never done that.

I call myself a weirdo, I consider weird a compliment, but I realize that I come across as weirder than I am in Wise Madness. The reason is selection bias, dog bites man is not newsworthy. There's no point in me telling you that I don't like being in pain or that I breathe. You'll assume those things. When I write about myself I focus on the things you might find surprising. When I do that I always imagine a Gentle Reader saying, "That's how I feel; I'm not the only one."

I told my therapist how much I enjoy the Google feed because it's personalized, it knows all about me, so it knows what I'm interested in. She pointed out that is exactly what bothers many people. I look at it differently. The Facebook security breach did not scare me. They didn't breach information that could lead to identity theft; that's an objective problem. What they did was naively give Cambridge Analytics access to my profile information, but with my identity encrypted. I don't see how that harms me. I'll see ads targeted at me? I don't like the effects on the election but it's not a privacy issue and we don't even know it's efficacy. In most cases I want advertisers to know about me. I want to see ads for things I might use, not feminine hygiene products. I just wish they'd do it better. I hate when I see ads for things I just bought.

I have a strong disgust reaction, which I think is what drives people's horror at the security breach, but this doesn't trigger it. Same thing with GMOs. My gut has no opinion on these things. I don't have to fight to be rational, rationality is the only part of me that has a dog in these fights. That doesn't mean I'm right. There might very well be dangers in the Facebook breach that I'm unaware of. If so, please tell me. Then I'll have to fight to be rational; once you've taken a position it's hard to change it. That's one way I'm not different than most people.

Now for a special breakfast. I told you that I bought matzoh, that wasn't for religious reasons. I also bought challah, it was on sale. That means today's breakfast is French toast. I just need to decide what to have with it.

Stop the presses! Spell and grammar check did not find a single error! I don't think that has ever happened before; a Pesach miracle!


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 03, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!