I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 03, 2008 - 12:10 a.m.

I'd have a better title but my writers are on strike

I�m losing it. I sat the computer to write my entry. I opened Word, I always write it in word. Then I took a quick look at the NY Times. When I was done I saw that Word was open and had no idea why and was going to walk away from the computer.

I�m also sick. I�m having my first Crohn�s disease attack in ages. It started a little after brunch. I had my usual omelet so that isn�t to blame. I just hope it passes quickly. I have my house concert on Saturday night. I was supposed to go to the Knick game tonight but I stayed home instead. Oh yes the Knicks lost again. Isiah Thomas has lost it far worse than I have. He appears to now be totally delusional. He is talking about the Knicks winning not a championship but championships with him at the helm.

The most disappointing thing about not going to the game was that it is very cold tonight. If I had gone I�d have had an excuse to wear my new Peruvian hat. If I�m feeling better tomorrow I�ll wear it.

So now I�m sort of stuck. I haven�t really done anything since my last entry. I was going to clean today but didn�t feel physically up to it.

I got an nice email that made me feel good. Someone wanted my snail mail address to send me a holiday card. It was nice to know that I am on her holiday card list and it was nice to know that somebody else procrastinates.

Today is a good day to start a new feature. I�m going to start listing the CDs I�ve listened to that day. Remember I�m catching up to a year without listening to any.

  1. Erin McKown -Grand
  2. City Folk Live Nine
  3. Chris and Meredith Thompson -Clearwater
  4. Dave Carter and Tracy Grammer -Tanglewood Tree
  5. Jud Caswell -Blackberry time

The CDs reminded me of a bit of irony. Only two people gave me Festivus presents. They both gave me the same thing, Dave and Tracy�s holiday album American Noel.

I started to take an online quiz, How Evil Are You and stopped in disgust. Why? Here is a sampling of the questions.

  • You've broken the law
  • You've secretly wished someone harm
  • You've said something so mean it made someone cry
  • You've killed a bug
  • You've spit in someone's drink

It is a list of major and minor sins. In the midst of them is; �You don't believe in God.�

So being an atheist is evil. Can you imagine how people would react if it said something like �You�re gay?� This wasn�t part of some religious right website. This is a mainstream quiz. Part of the reason people believe in god despite its total irrationality is that we are all taught that to believe in god is to be a good and to not believe in god is to be bad.

I took a break from writing this to watch the opening of The David Letterman Show. It is his first show after two months because of the writer�s strike. His production company came to a separate contract with the union. That isn�t what I wanted to write about. It is the reason that I totally lost my train of thought and don�t remember what I was about to say. I am also really tired so I think I�ll put this entry to bed then follow suit myself.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 03, 2008
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!