I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 21, 2015 - 8:37 p.m.

A Clockwork Potato


I have gotten used to idiosyncrasies of Word 2013 or whatever it is that I'm using. I simply start every document with a blank line. After that it doesn't skip a line every time I hit return. It does that first time.

I'm still doing the WFUV pledge drive. That means it's pretty much all I do. I did take it easy today, I only did an 11-hour shift. I have the commute down to a science to the exact minute. I wake up at 4:15. I leave the house at 4:31. I arrive at the subway 4:37 simultaneously with the train. I get to Grand Central Terminal at 5:20. I buy my ticket and board the train on track 24, the rear door of the third car from the rear. I walk in and take the first seat that is not facing another seat on the left side. I arrive at Fordham train stop at 5:57 and arrive at the WFUV studios at Keating Hall at 6:07. Yes I'm seven minutes late. To arrive earlier I'd have to leave 40 minutes earlier. They can survive seven minutes without me. It's tough but they can do it.

The real point of the paragraph is showing how my mind works. I used my phone to discover all the necessary times. The subway is amazingly consistent at that time. I am considering going another way, the to the then walking or taking the bus. I have to see how that timing works out. That could save me a lot of money. As it would leave out the 20 minute wait in Grand Central station it could possibly work out. I am going to look now. If I leave 20 minutes earlier I might get there a little earlier. I have to think about it.

So what was fun today? Oh right. I forgot, I woke up with a Crohn's attack. I've been at this so long I knew it would probably clear up so I went in anyway. I went in with an intestinal obstruction. It hadn't cleared by the time I got to Grand Central so I took 20 mg of prednisone. It still hadn't cleared up when I arrived at the station but I felt confident enough to order breakfast. I like order breakfast day. I had eggs over easy, grits, and sausage with rye toast. Guess what soon after ordering the obstruction cleared. I'm a pro at being sick.

Dickson was there this morning that's always fun. He has a lot of good stories, even more than me. I retell some of his. No I don't lie and say they are about me. I was considering making up interesting things to say happened today. I might still do that.

Jim had to leave and head to his real job for about four hours. We made do without him. As we were shorthanded I had to get help from students. That's usually fun and I like training them. I've got my training down pat now. I know the things to tell them to watch out for and what they can figure out on their own.

Oh, I am supposed to talk about yesterday's dinner. It was the first time I cooked during the drive. I get plenty of meat when I'm there but no potatoes at all so I made a hasselback potato out of a huge Idaho. I made a mistake and set the oven at 475° instead of 425°. I cooked it a few minutes less. I put a slice of cheese on it for the last few minutes and that was interesting. It chars at the higher temperature but not the lower. That was nice. I had a sort of grilled cheese sandwich with it. I took a goyisha bagel from the station. It's more of a round role with a hole in it. I cut it in half and brushed it with the leftover olive oil/melted butter I use on the potato. Then put on a slice of cheese and a slice of Taylor ham and popped it in with the potato for five minutes. The entire dinner was pretty damn delicious. Today I had peanut butter.

Each Monday I want to give you my fantasy baseball league standings. At least as long as my team, the Batnoses are in first. I forgot yesterday. Here's where we stood at the end of the second week.

Not as big a lead as after week one but still in first. I can't complain. When things are going well fantasy baseball is great. Of course my best player, the relief pitcher Greg Holland, just got hurt. I think we can survive for a few weeks without him.

WooHoo. I am getting my first press pass as a blogger. I am going to see Valerie Vigoda's musical;

I saw a reading of it and it was wonderful. Now I have to figure out a way to get there. I wrote Valerie to see if I could. She wrote back today. Believe it or not I had anxiety reading her message even though I knew from the preview she said yes. Anxiety works in mysterious ways.

Now I'm going to put this to bed and then put myself to bed. I have to get up in less than eight hours.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 21, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!