I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 23, 2015 - 10:57 a.m.

The Drive of Future Past

I'm starting to blog only an hour late. I will take that as a moral victory. Yes I'm grading myself on a curve this morning.
So you know how in last entry I talked about how I got my commute to WFUV down to a science? That's called hubris and I was punished for it. I use my phone as my alarm. It's great you can set it for a different time every day and have it repeat weekly. So I prepared myself for the week getting up at 4:15 AM on the weekdays for just one week. Unfortunately yesterday was the second Wednesday. I didn't have the alarm set. I woke up in the middle night and realized that. I went to change it. Unfortunately the middle of the night was already 5:30 AM. I had overslept by over an hour. To make it worse it was Wednesday and I know that Jim wouldn't be in early to supervise. I can't get ready any faster than I already plan. I get out of the house in 16 minutes. Yes I do things that tight, down to the minute. So I raced into my clothes and raced to the subway but because it wasn't all planned beforehand I had to wait 7 minutes for the train. The other days the train gets in when I do. But! Because it's later in the day the runs express and takes less time to get to Grand Central Terminal. I knew the train schedule from my phone app. I knew if I raced I might just make a train. I ran to buy a ticket and ran to the train. It was after it was scheduled to leave so was no longer posted but I knew the track. It was still there. The doors closed seconds after I was on it. Whew. I arrived only 50 minutes late.

There was only one volunteer there with three students. Fortunately Tom knows what he's doing and he supervised till I arrived. The students were untrained and thrown into the breach. And there were early phone calls so they had to take pledges. But it all worked out fine. When I got there I gave them the fine points and things went smoothly. Tom did a great job.

The rest of the day was pretty busy. It was the last day of the drive so people called. I had to answer the phones! We had special guest, Jill and Carly came down. Jill is a long time ubervolunteer who used to take care of the front desk tally. Carly is her daughter who went to Fordham and worked at the station. Carly answered phones. She was my assistant back when she was 12. Yes I got nostalgic.

Lunch was special, we had pizza from Michaelangelo's. That usually only comes late night. I was a happy camper. Of course my tummy has not been well during the drive. It's going to be happy that it's over. I'll go back to home cooking.

I was thinking of leaving early but I didn't. I ended up making the 6:02 train home. I always consider bus and subway but after working 11 hours I couldn't face it. I want to get home fast and easy.

I didn't have to go to sleep early last night I so watched TV on my computer. First I watched Game of Thrones, season one episode two. I'm still not impressed. It strikes me as gross. Not as in disgusting but as in not refined. There's a lot of explicit sex and violence with the intent of shocking. I find I numbing. It isn't like The Lord of the Rings it isn't even really a fantasy. The world is not explored, it's all setting up a power struggle with characters that are over the top. It reminds me of nothing so much as the Caligula episodes of I Claudius But without Claudius to be give it human perspective. People whose taste I respect a lot love it so I'm not giving up yet. Mark keeps telling me to read the books. But that's more of an investment in time and money if I can't borrow it from someone. I need to feel there's some reason to think I'll enjoy it. My tastes are often different than most people in these things. I found Empire Strikes Back boring.

Then I watched X-Men Days of Future Past. They didn’t play the Moody Blues! I didn't actually think they would. I enjoyed it. Time travel stories pretty much never make sense when it's used to do more than get the protagonist to the scene of the action. When a character goes back in time people in his present can't wait for the changes to happen. They already happened. I just tried to ignore that. The story itself was fun. But of course I knew Magneto didn't kill Kennedy. I watched Red Dwarf and know that JFK killed JFK. Now that's a time travel story. I pretty much always enjoy the Marvel movies. Even when they aren't great or even good, they are fun. I'll count this as good.

I have a backlog of pictures and videos I have to get through. I'll do that today and do some food shopping. I'll try and take things easy. I'm still tired out from the drive.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 23, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!