I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 18, 2006 - 10:28 a.m.

No Bomb is As Smart as Chocolate

I didn't feel up to updating last night. I was afraid I was getting sick. It seems to have passed. My mother woke me up at 4AM the last two nights; that didn't help. Last night was a bit scary; she was very disoriented. I found a shopping bag filled with linens by the door and asked my mother what it was. She said it was what she was taking home. She didn't know where she was and she didn't know it was the middle of the night.

I gave my calculus 1 test yesterday. I mentioned before it started that it covered very little material. They all gasped. They thought it was so much. I had gone super slowly. I usually cover the same material in about two weeks. We are a month behind where we should be. I haven't graded them but I'm not sanguine about it. I could see they were all stuck on the related rates problems despite the fact that they came directly from the homework. All I changed was the numbers. So many of them seem to have reading problems. I can tell from the questions they were asking me.

A lighthouse lies 400 meters from a straight shore. The light rotates at a rate of 3 revolutions per minute. A piling marks the spot on the beach nearest the lighthouse. Find the speed at which the light beam is moving along the shore at a point 300 meters from the piling.

"nearest what?"
"Is the piling on the beach?"
"Is the spot on the shore?"
In one student's diagram the lighthouse was 400 meters high.

This exact problem was on the handout sheet I gave them. All I changed was the numbers. The wording was identical. I told them that I loved this problem, that it would very likely be on the test.

One of the topics we covered was differentials. The symbol for a differential is dy as opposed to the derivative dy/dx. The formula is simple, dy = dy/dx * dx. We spent a few days on that. The instructions were:

For 5 and 6 find dy:

Several students asked "did you mean dy/dx?"

It is hard to accept that the students don't remember entire topics.

I have to grade the test today and make up my calculus 2 test.

I did manage to get my taxes out. Yes I did it one day early. I didn't even have to even get my New York State Taxes out till today thanks to it being Patriot's Day in Massachusetts yesterday. Seems odd doesn't it?



OK enough of the nonsense. Now for something really important. LORi and I came up with a plan for world peace last night. We'll try it first in Iraq.

The program is peace through chocolate. You are probably now kicking yourself and saying, "It is so obvious, why didn't I think of that?" Here is how it works. Forget dropping bombs and the use of military force. We simply spend the money on chocolate. It is a lot of money so we can get really good chocolate. We then give everyone in Iraq, Shia, Sunni, and Kurd, a chocolate bar every day. We tell them that we will cut off the supply if there is sectarian violence or injustice. They might control the oil but we control the chocolate, a far more important resource. We would need to have the cooperation of OCEC (Organization of Chocolate Exporting Countries) especially the Netherlands, Switzerland, and Belgium.

One thing, we can't send them any dark chocolate mounds bars. That would be too difficult as many people believe that women are incapable of choosing dark chocolate mounds bars by themselves. That is why they you don't find them displayed in stores. They are there but available only to men. If a woman goes to the counter and asks for one the clerk will tell them they don't exist. If a man asks he will discretely be sold one as long as he vows to not give it to a woman.

We really need to change that. Remember to vote for your pro-choice candidates in the fall.

LORi and I have saved the world so many times. How come we haven't won a Nobel Peace Prize? Or even better some chocolate? We could share it with SONiA from disappear fear. Two of her albums are Almost Chocolate and No Bomb is Smart. There it is, the prescription for world peace.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 18, 2006
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!