I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 21, 2016 - 11:21 a.m.

Careful What You Comment

I'm starting to write this early, during the WFUV Question of the Day. But that's just getting started. As soon as the QotD is over I'm going to make breakfast and then come back and write this. Yes, I'm blogging about writing this blog. I'm going to disappear into a vortex of meta. Vortex of Meta is a great band name. Feel free to use it.

I once again didn't leave City Island yesterday, that always makes it harder to write. It was Tuesday, let's see if you have been paying attention. If it's Tuesday and I'm on City Island what do I do? No Jane, you can't answer. You clearly don't stalk me obsessively enough. On Tuesdays I get half-priced hamburgers at The Snug. I went with Jane and Bernie. My usual waitress is on her honeymoon so I couldn't order "the usual;" I had to actually say what I wanted. She did say, "You want half-priced hamburgers or do you need a menu?" That was smart. You should come and have dinner with me some Tuesday night at the Snug. For $6 I get a great burger and fries and that includes the tip

After dinner I went for dessert. Here's a chance to redeem yourself. Where did I go? That's better, Lickity Splits. I had my usual Bittersweet Symphony. This time it was in a waffle cone. That's the first time I tried that. it's so good.

One more chance, what are the two shows I'm binge watching on my computer? Good, some of you knew it's Doctor Who and Stranger Things. Maybe my unconscious goal is to get a real life stalker. I'm pretty sure that's not true. Of course if it's an intelligent, talented, beautiful woman I might reconsider.

OK. I'm back from breakfast. I had hameggandcheese on a bagel. Today I made it perfect. I want the yolk gelatinous in a sandwich, not liquid which runs all over the place and not solid which doesn't taste as good. It's something I don't get tired of.

Know what I do get tired of? Some annoying types of Facebook comments. Some are totally harmless and well-meaning but totally banal and add nothing to the discussion. If it's a discussion of politics they'll say, "everyone should be nicer." If it's a discussion of culture they'll say how they love the biggest hit TV show, movie, song, or book. You can't get mad at those people, you just ignore them and move on.

There are the "it's all about me!" people. In any discussion you can be sure they'll bring it around to talking about themselves.

Then there are the friends riding a hobby horse. This is usually but not always political. They will make the same point repeatedly if it is at all tangentially related to what you post. Do they really think that the 101st attempt is going to be the one that finally gets you to see things their way? I have a few friends that I cringe when I see they commented because I'm afraid that's what I'll see. No matter the topic of the speech Cato the Elder ended every time he addressed the Roman Senate with "Carthage must be destroyed;" These people are kindred spirits.

Then there are the most annoying and socially clueless of them all; the people you don't know at all that feel the need to attack what you said and or spout their views commenting on your post. It's usually politics. I posted an article on polling in this election and this guy I don't know from Adam says, "Have you considered voting for Gary Johnson?" and linking to his campaign website. It was like Jehovah's Witnesses coming to your door. There's this one guy that when I give the 538 and upshot forecasts feels the need to explain how polls mean nothing as it's all about the electoral college as if the people writing the articles, myself, and all my friends don't know that. That also counts as making it all about him. He wants to prove how smart he is. Some comment to spout hate. That's the worst of all.

The point is, "Don't do those things!" I have a friend, a Trumpanista, that makes me cringe every day but I don't argue. I know it won't help. If he were someone I was closer to I might but not when that's our only interaction. You don't have to agree with your friends on everything to be friends, to even be good friends. You just have to realize when arguing is pointless.

This is short but I'm not going to get on the political topics I've been thinking about. It was what I planned on writing today but then saw one of the annoying post types I just went through, saw the opening, and took the open shot.

I have therapy today. You should know I have it on Wednesdays if you want to be a proper stalker. I think I'll stop at the stop and shop in New Rochelle on the way home. If I forget remind me.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 21, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!