I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-02-15 - 07:14:27

Happy Valentine's Day

I'm off to Toronto tomorrow so I this will be my last diary entry till Sunday or Monday. I should try to make it a good one I guess. Of course I have left everything till the last moment and I'm just now packing. More importantly I'm making my all time favourite song tape for my favourite, Betsy. It is very hard to come up with just 110 minutes. I guess it really isn't the definitive list but as Carey said as long as it has 1952 Vincent Black Lightning it will be fine.

I have all this ridiculous anxiety about the weekend. I have to relax. I'm driving up with two of the best people I've ever known, Lisa and Gella, and I'm meeting more good friends up there. It will not be a repeat of last year's fiasco.

Here's a good omen I actually still had the Toronto maps I got last year in my car. I won't get lost at least. I think I can find my hotel and Lisa's hostel without the map just from memory. Carey hate's me for that. I pretty much have my time planned out for the weekend. Tomorrow is the ride up. Friday during the day Lisa and I will explore Toronto. Last year we went to the science center, we'll find something to do this year. Then it's off to the pub. Saturday is the Con and The Fruvous concert. Sunday after the Breakfast my Angel Julie is going to give me her tour of the city.

Of course part of me wishes I was at Carey/Shelly Con, eating Halvah and seeing DVN.

I'm a bit worried about Leah. She's been going through a tough time as I've mentioned before. Leah here is one big hug for you till I get back.

Hugs

Today was Valentines day so I guess I should acknowledge that. Now I could write a really depressing entry about this of course. Hell I could just tell the story of last Valentine's Day. I'll spare you the details but let's just say it's not a wise thing to go to a concert of nothing of Love Songs by yourself on Valentine's Day.

So instead of this I'm giving my Top Ten things to do to cheer yourself up on Valentine's Day. Now I realize that most of you will be reading this the next day but perhaps it will hope with the post Valentine's Day depression.

The Top Ten Things to Do if you don't have a Valentine On Valentines Day.

From the Home Office in Toronto Ontario.

10. Say "Valentine's Day? Well it's about time they made a holiday for the manager of the Mets."

9. Tell everyone that you had a date with Nicole Kidman/Tom Cruise(whichever would be appropriate) but you were afraid the tabloids would be all over you.

8. Do a google search on Diaryland + pathetic loser till you find someone whose life is so bad that yours looks great in comparison?

7. If you aren't bisexual realize that there is an entire gender that hasn't rejected you yet.

6. If you are bisexual, One Word ... extraterrestrials.

5. Send yourself an e-Valentine's Day card and sign it whoever you fantasize about.

4. Think of every Valentine as an ad for Open Heart Surgery and be glad you don't have one.

3. Prepare for your next lover: practice by yourself.

2. Say that Punxsutawney Phil saw his shadow on Groundhog's day and that you are preparing for 6 more weeks of winter.

1. Two Words ... Circus Peanuts


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-02-15
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!