I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-03-25 - 11:04 a.m.

A Tonic for what ails you.

I usually start off Sunday mornings the same way, listening to John Platt's show on WFUV , yesterday was no exception. It is over by 11 I feel it is late enough to make any calls I want to make. I was wrong yesterday; I still managed to wake up Lisa. She forgave me though and we made plans for meeting me before the Kennedys' show last night. I thought about calling Carey and Shelly but decided to take a shower first. When I got out of the shower I heard my answering machine beeping and knew it was them, I had just missed their call. I called back and got my usual dose of abuse. When my friends treat me like that imagine how my enemies treat me J I really did have a great time talking to them even though Shelly did say "You are dead to me now." She's a bit sensitive when it comes to a certain Virginia bassist who looks like a caveman.

In the afternoon I read the Sunday Times. I don't read the papers as much as I used to, I love reading the Times, Newsday is good too.

I left around 6 to meet Lisa at Katz's Deli. I drove in and got there a few minutes late. She was waiting for me outside. We went in and she went to get a cheesecake and I went to get a sandwich. While I'm waiting at the counter I hear someone say, "Hey Gordon." It was Andy. I had told him that I would probably eat there. He was there with Ellen, and John; they were going to the Kennedys' show too. Lisa and I sat at the table next to theirs. Lisa knew Andy and I introduced her to John and Ellen.

We all walked over to Tonic after dinner. I gave them the mini tour of the neighborhood pointing out that Früvous stayed in a hotel on Rivington St the first time they played New York. I also showed them the tenement my father was born; it's across the street from Tonic.

They didn't sell advanced tickets to the show and I wanted to make sure that we got there early; I had no reason to worry. The only ones there before us were Fred and a friend. Then Dave and his girlfriend showed up. I actually knew everyone in the lobby waiting to get in.

Even when the show started it wasn't a large crowd. I should have realized it since it was Oscar night. This year I saw the Kennedys the nights of the Academy Awards and the Superbowl, I don't quite have the same priorities as the general public.

Before the show Pete and Maura came over to talk to me, which is always great. They are two of my favorite people. We talked about the Kennedys Karaoke; they might do it when Carey and I see them in Baltimore in June. They are going to do FRFF this year!!! I of course invited them up to see us at the Budgiedome. That led to us talking about DaVinci's Notebook. You gotta love that Northern Virginia music mafia.

They did a great set, lots of new songs and lots of old songs they don't do that often. Pete asked me for a request but the only song I really had to hear was Life is Large, I knew they'd play that anyway. They finished the set with Why Winona which is the other song I might have requested. It will be on their new album coming out in May. I told them that would be a great song to do at FRFF and they agreed. I can just see the whole audience joining them on the chorus of "Why Why Why Winona."

They said they'd give a free tape to anyone that brought a printout of the email announcing the show. I forgot mine but as I expected they gave me one anyway.

Everyone else left when the Kennedys were done but we stayed for the next band, Green Rooftops. I had seen the drummer and violinists at the St Paddy's day show at the Merc last week. They were good but they didn't really grab me. They go well with the Kennedys, they play sixties style pop music. One of their songs would have made a good theme for a James Bond film.

Fred came back during their set and we did some catching up with him. It was too late for us to stay for the third set so we left then.

I drove Lisa home without too much trouble. There are no signs how to get to the BQE from the Manhattan Bridge but we figured it out. They really need to do something about that.

When we got back to her apartment we sat in the car talking for a while. We noticed there was a car with an Alaska license plate and Lisa took a picture of it. A minute later the window opens of the car and the driver takes a camera out and takes a picture of us. We didn't know anyone was in the car. I'm glad he had a sense of humor.

When I got home saw that my sister, Alison's car was parked in front. She stayed over and I watched the end of the Oscars with her and my mother. I usually don't watch but I wanted to see Alison and I had a horse in this race, The Lord of the Rings for those of you not paying attention. It didn't win the big ones of course. Oh well. It won the Horvendile Awards for Best Picture, Director, and Supporting Actor.

Today I'm going to take my father to and from dialysis and go to the Knick game. It will be good to see my father again. I still have the cold so I'll have to try and keep my distance though.

I better run now if I want to get there on time.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-03-25
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!