I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-03-26 - 10:18 a.m.

I don't like Mondays

Yesterday was stressful. The plan was for me to take my father to dialysis. When I got there he was in so much pain from his back injury that he couldn't stand up. I'm glad that Alison was there too to help me through this. We went to different people at the rehab center trying to get help. We managed to get him some vicodin, a painkiller which helped. We were trying to arrange for him to be taken in an ambulance but he started feeling well enough that they were able to get him dressed and sitting in his wheelchair. Getting him into the car was the next challenge. I tripped over part of his wheelchair and stepped on his foot, which was horrible. His feet are sore from circulatory problems. I wasn't able to get him in the car myself and it took quite some time to get somebody to help. To make it worse my mother was getting on my nerves. She wouldn't move the car to where it would be easier to get my father in it and kept blaming me for everything. When we got help they had her move the car to where I wanted and we managed to get him in.

When we got to dialysis they managed to get him back in the wheelchair and into the treatment chair without too much difficulty.

I had asked Alison to come back to the house to help me talk to my mother. She has been avoiding dealing with things. Without my prodding she arranged for a new ambulette to take my father from now on. It was far too hard to do it in the car. We were afraid it would cost much more money than the old one; it is going to be $30 a week cheaper.

When my sister and I approached her about suing the ambulette company she wouldn't do anything. My father really wants to, he is very angry about what happened. When we approached her together she cooperated. We called Sheldon Leffler, he used to be our city councilman and he's a friend of my parents. We are going to ask his advice about who to get as a lawyer and how to proceed. We called but he was in court, he'll get back to us.

When I picked my father up I got into another fight with my mother about getting help getting out of the car when we got back to the rehab place. For some reason she got decided that they wouldn't help us and that we should do it ourselves even though it was such a disaster when we tried to get him into the car ourselves. I insisted on getting help and of course they sent someone down and we got him back into the wheelchair.

I then went off to the Knick game. The Knicks were playing Denver, one of the worst teams. They still managed to blow a 15-point lead and lose. They are getting very good at that. During halftime Alan and I always make top ten lists of some sort and then compare our lists. Our topic for the day was top ten racist or otherwise politically incorrect and stupid things that people in the sports world said. We both had the same number one. Marge Schott the former owner of the Cincinnati Reds once said, "Hitler had some good ideas, he just took them to far." When we finished the list I commented that the guy sitting behind us could have filled the list himself. I wasn't paying to much attention but he was spouting so much racist idiocy.

I have nothing planned for today. I have to hang around because the carpet cleaners are coming this afternoon. I'll have to call my doctor and get a refill on my prescriptions too. I might even write another entry today.

One question before I go. Carey now refers to me as "the bastard" instead of the creep. Is that a step up or a step down? Isn't it great having friends? ☺


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-03-26
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!