I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-10-13 - 10:42 a.m.

Rhyme or Reason

It seem that we have an anthrax scare now. This is one of those things I just can't get very nervous about. While it is a personal tragedy for those who died and a misfortune for the woman at NBC who got sick it is not something I am personally fearful of. We are talking three people out of a nation of 270 million. You are far more likely to be hit by lightning or win a lotto jackpot. This is not a prelude for a bigger attack, that makes no sense. Why warn people? Now people are on their guard for suspicious letters.

I am always worried that people will be put off when I say things like that. I try to be rational but I think some people take that as being cold. There is a line from Blake's 7, one of the greatest British science fictions shows ever, that I love. "Why is it necessary to act irrational to show that you care?"

OK now I see I'm going to be going off on rants today. People are all shocked and distraught over what happened here, as well they should be. How come people didn't get so upset when genocide was being committed in Rwanda? Hundreds of thousands of people were killed as the world looked on. I know that they were not Americans, does that make their lives less valuable? I've been thinking about this quite a bit because there is actually a link to Bin Laden. One of the biggest reasons that the United States let this happen was the loss of US Peace Keepers in Somalia, not long before. That was the work of Bin Laden. President Clinton says now that not taking action in Rwanda was a great failure of his administration. We let ourselves be ruled by fear.

Not much going on in my personal life, yesterday was quite boring. Today holds more promise. I'm going sailing with Lisa and her brother. I've never been on a small sailboat. Sailing has always appealed to me. The idea that you can travel without being dependant on fuel or machinery is so romantic. All a ship's captain needs is tall ship and a star to steer by.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-10-13
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!