I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2001-12-09 - 10:46 p.m.

Call From My Beloved, Beatific, Batnosed Embryo

It looks like my father might get out of the hospital this week. His internist wasn't in today but his associate was. She said that after a couple more dialysis treatments he might go home. That would be great. My father isn't the best patient, he is very impatient. If you have to spend time in a hospital be prepared to wait. It really isn't bad once you get into the routine. It isn't pleasant and you never get enough sleep but it is bearable.

The one good thing that comes out of my father being there is I get to see my sister Alison on the weekends and I talk to my sister Sue in Texas more often. I might not be much on family functions but my immediate family is another story.

I really didn't do anything other than visit my father today. I spent a lot of time there and when I got home I made up a test. I am asking them a question I did in class with the names changed. I say that less than half the people will get it right anyway even though it is a take-home test. My sister agrees with me.

I actually remembered to watch the Simpson's and Malcolm in the Middle. I don't know if it is a good thing that I'm back in the habit of watching TV. I was going to watch Law and Order: Special Victims Unit too but Leah called just as it was starting. I love the Law and Order franchise but I love talking to Leah even more.

Leah was feeling guilty about neglecting me. How wonderful is that? I love talking to her of course but I'm glad that she has been happier recently and hasn't had the need or time to call me. I will try and see her on the way back from seeing DVN with Carey after Christmas. Leah has started updating every day now. Everyone should be following her example. That means you!

Polls show that the majority of the public is behind Ashcroft's installing Military Tribunals to try terrorists. I'm curious do any of my readers think they are a good idea? Everyone I talk to thinks the whole idea is monstrous. It is one of those issues that I think polls don't tell the stories. People will say they are for them because they are uniformed. If they knew the facts they would be against them. Let me know how you feel.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2001-12-09
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!