I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-02-23 - 10:08 a.m.

"Face it you're a donut"

Here I am writing another morning after entry. Let's see if I can remember anything. If I can't I'm sure Gella will make the corrections and fill in the details.

The morning was uneventful; I did my usual playing online. At 3:00 my mother came home from the hospital and I took her car and went to visit my father. The timing was good as he was back from his tests and wasn't down in dialysis yet. My father was doing much better yesterday, for the first time he was eating with an appetite. This may be due to them giving him an appetite stimulator but the one that he was given at home didn't seem to work. I talked to his nephrologist who didn't seem to have much new information. He did say that my father's muscle weakness could be due to the steroids he was taking to help his appetite. I'm skeptical about that.

He is having a big problem with his toe now, the middle toe in his left foot hurts. They aren't sure if it's gout or something else. Right now they are working on figuring out what it is. It is probably a circulation problem of some sort.

When his dinner came my father started eating it without his usual problems. Then in a case of terrible timing they came to bring him down to dialysis in the middle of dinner. They told him they'd keep his dinner and reheat it for him when he got back.

When my father went to dialysis I left to start my expedition up to New Haven. My first stop was SUNY Purchase to pick up Gella. I had printed out directions how to get there but I decided to just follow the signs. I actually found it and the place where we were supposed to meet without a problem. I picked up Gella and her friend Jason and drove Jason to the train station. I had only been there once before, on the way up to Frücon 2001 and we had trouble finding the station then. In the last year they put up signs to it so it was no problem

Then we were off to New Haven to see Kat in the choir of Beethoven's Ninth. We hit a bit of traffic but our timing seemed to be OK till we got off 95, and then as they so often do the online directions broke down. We ended up feeling our way there and even passed Toad's on the way. Toad's is where we saw Früvous in May 2000. We asked someone where the hall was and found we were close by. Our next problem was finding parking. We drove around and around and couldn't find anything till we found a lot. By now it was late so we were hoping that the show was on Früvous time. We got to the hall and it was packed, we found a couple of seats in the limited site area, off to the side. The acoustics weren't the best there but at least the show hadn't started.

The first piece they did was Beethoven's 1st. I believe this was the first time I've actually ever heard the complete symphony. I had my usual amusement noticing the learning curve of the first time classical concertgoers. After the first movement about a third of the people applauded, after the second movement, there was a smattering of applause, after the third silence. Before my first concert I was warned that it was impolite to applaud between movements but I know that always seems wrong to the novice.

After a short intermission they performed the 9th. It took me a while to figure out where Kat and the Chorus were. They were up on the Mezzanine. I thought I saw someone who might have been Kat but I wasn't sure. I wish I had brought my opera glasses. The performance was great. I really need to hear classical music more often. There is nothing else like it. The 9th is of course my favorite piece of music in the world. It was my mentioning that in one of those email surveys that prompted Kat to invite me in the first place.

After the show I was able to stand up and move a bit and I found Kat in the mezzanine. I couldn't see her from where we were sitting. Once I saw her there was not question it was she.

After the show we made our way over to the reception. We found it without too much trouble but had trouble getting into the building, the front door was locked. We walked around the block to try from the back and instead found a side entrance with a door propped open about 20 feet from the front door. We could have just walked around the building but we didn't know that.

On the way upstairs Gella and I both got excited when we saw the WYBC sign on a door. Kat told us that was the old studio, not where she broadcasts from now. We saw Kat as soon as we walked in and ended up coming up from behind her. We then both got big Kat hugs and a huge smile. Kat was delighted at having two worlds, Früheads and school, collide. She is the social chair so the party was her baby. She gets high marks from me, there were chocolate pirouettes. That would have made the trip worthwhile to me without the concert.

Kat had to attend to her duties as social chair so I got to do some catching up with Gella, which is always worthwhile. Whenever she could Kat would come back to us and we'd catch up with her. I found out that Great Big Sea is playing at Toad's the day before I see them here. I decided to go up and see them there too. Gella might join me, which would be nice.

It was a long ride home and Gella didn't get much sleep the night before so we left before midnight. On the ride home we listened to a tape that I had made Gella a couple of years before. I always love listening to mix tapes that I make as they are of course filled with songs that I love. Gella slept a good deal of the trip but when she was awake she was singing along with the songs. It always makes me feel good when I introduce art to someone and they appreciate it. I generally do pretty well with music, not as well with literature. I don't think anyone I gave Jurgen to has ever read it.

The trip home was much faster than the trip out there. It helps when there is no traffic and you go 80 in a 55mph zone. I didn't take Gella back to school but to Jason's on the upper west side. It was a bit out of the way but I know how to get there which makes things easier. I was even able to avoid the toll on the way home.

I got home and read diaries but decided I was too tired to write one then so I waited for this morning. I got an email from Joy, she said that she wants to see Deni Bonet and the Saw Doctors tonight. I'll have to make plans with her today then it's off to Philadelphia. It's great to be Frütripping. I really am reliving college except I didn't do this kind of thing then. In about a month's time I'll have made two trips to Baltimore, two to New Haven, and one to Philly. I'm keeping busy.

I came up with two good diary ideas yesterday, now if I ever have a slow day and time to prepare them I'll be ready.

Oh yes about the title. After doing something stupid as usual Gella said, just face it you're a donut. I told her that she had given me the title of my entry.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-02-23
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!